1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which XBox mod chip?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by DazJWood, Nov 25, 2003.

  1. DazJWood

    DazJWood
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hiya,

    I have now had an XBox for a couple of months and am thinking of getting it chipped.

    Which mod chip is best?

    I think the most popular seems to be this Executor Chip, but I hear that the XBit chip is also gaining in popularity and is supposed to have extra features? Has anyone got any opinions on this.

    Also, where is the best supplier of these chips? I do not need a place that installs them as I will do this myself.

    Also, do these chips all have an external board that needs to be fitted? I ask this as I was thinking of replacing my DVD player with the Xbox and did not particularly want a piece of PCB stuck to the front on the XBox.

    Thanks in advance and any further information on these mod chips would be very welcome.

    Daz
     
  2. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Executer Lite 2.2 seems good.

    Recommend Premodded.
     
  3. CatManDo

    CatManDo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Ratings:
    +242
    someone told me there is a mod available for the XBOX now that updates the bios.......ie no 'chip' is required

    anyone heard of this?
     
  4. holtehero

    holtehero
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,775
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +1,771
    yes, my mate has just had one of xbox's 'Xploited' as it is known for about £35

    I believe you have to do some disk swapping with a CD for this non chip mod to work though once it is installed

    Good option if you don't want a chip fitting, but this mod still uses the slayer dashboard installed on the HD, so will invalidate the warranty just the same
     
  5. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
  6. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    wait for the new xecutor 2.3 to arrive - thats suppose to run on everything. i personally have the 2.2lite and its pretty much perfect tbh:)
     
  7. rahulkohli

    rahulkohli
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^^^ when is the x-ecuter 3 coming out. im prob gonna buy a modded x box before x mas and am doing a bit of research on it now.
    at premodded they have

    Chameleon 1.3 Modified XBOX £175.00
    DMS X-BIT Modified XBOX £185.00
    X-Ecuter 2.2 Lite Modified XBOX £175

    anyone have any advice on what i should look for or what i should get. cheers
     
  8. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just had an email thru from http://www.mrmodchips.com saying that xecuter v2.3 lite is now instock with shipping from 28/11

    regards
    Gary
     
  9. rahulkohli

    rahulkohli
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^^^cheers. what is the difference between the x bit and the x-ecuter. aprt from the £10 price difference.
     
  10. monsieurblack

    monsieurblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +5
    sweet :cool:

    thanks for the heads up Gary :smashin:

    much appreciated

    now all i'll have to do is buy my xbox! ;) lol :D






    cheers
    monsieurblack
     
  11. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    glad to be of assistance :)

    Am looking at Xbox myself - keep wondering into game to see what they have, suprised i've not yet been chucked out for loitering:rotfl:

    Not sure to go for modded Xbox or normal one then mod it myself at a later date.

    Anyone done a DIY mod (soldering etc), how easy was it?


    regards
    Gary
     
  12. monsieurblack

    monsieurblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +5
    lol! :rotfl:

    check out the thread i started best xbox AND gamecube deals around? for info on some great deals as not all the best are at game [looks like currently its whsmith on their 10% off evening...]

    unfortunately i have no previous experience on modding an xbox [or any console for that matter :blush:] but when i went to my friends in the states [not too sure if their versions are any different? :confused:] he showed me how he did his and took it all apart in front of me and it does look reasonably simple, i know i'll be very nervous doing it but think i'll have a crack myself :cool:

    just need a really thin soldering iron now ;) lol






    xecuter v2.3 all the way
    monsieurblack
     
  13. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hehe.

    Steady hand needed also. I remember doing a memory upgrade on my Acorn Archimedes A310, went from 1MB to 4MB, which required removal of memory controller chips, etc and soldering a daughter card to main mobo, then replacing memory controller and 4*256KB roms.

    Was really cr&pping myself as this system had just cost me £1200 :eek: (this was in 1987-1988). But the mod worked, I was so relieved :D

    So the soldering shouldn't be to difficult for me (hopefully).

    Will have to checkout WHSmiths next Thursday, is it evening only then? 5pm onwards or something??

    cheers
    Gary
     
  14. monsieurblack

    monsieurblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +5
    ah ha

    good question :blush: :eek: its probably all day but thats just a guess :blush: i most likely put eve as that would be the only time i'd be able to make [after work] thinking of myself! lol

    i agree with the steady hand tho! a 'must have' 'feature' :D

    congrats with the 'ol upgrade :rotfl: that acorn must FLY! he he



    keep checking that thread out re: best deals as i'm looking all the time and wll add as n when i find
    *think* i may get a gamecube tonight for my bro's xmas prezzie...but we'll see...
    monsieurblack
     
  15. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Anyone in the cardiff area and wants theirs modded drop me a PM. Happy to help. Pop round for a coffee and I'll do it while you wait. No charge (chip price only) just happy to help.
     
  16. monsieurblack

    monsieurblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +5
    WOW! :eek:

    man thats SO kind of you Messiah :smashin:

    i wish i lived near! :( suppose it'd be best if i got an xbox in the first place though :blush: it might help! lol :rolleyes:


    thats it! i've gone and done it...on the way back from work went in to gamestation a bought my brother a gamecube for xmas!!! [on the credit card mind, so i'll worry 'bout that after xmas. he he] got the mario kart deal with the five zelda games and resident evil and an extra controller [so he'll have two] and a memory card :cool: pretty good i thought for 99...


    luvvly jubbly





    lets hope he likes it now!
    monsieurblack

    p.s. looking more n more likely that i'll have to wait til i get myself an xbox now...perhaps after xmas sometime...???
     
  17. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi Kramer

    I will be moding my xbox real soon.
    The web site you recommended above doesn't seem to have
    any reviews or recommendations. Is there anyone else?

    Do you know anyone that has had their xbox modded by them?
    and can still go on xbox live?
    Ive read on the net that several xboxes have been banned from
    xbox live because they had been modded.

    Thanks for the link.

    Cheers,
    Shaz
     
  18. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi James

    You say your xecuter 2.2 lite is perfect but what made you go
    for it and not any other mod. Can you recommend any web site
    that can explain in "non-geek speak" what the differences are between the following mods:
    DMS X-BIT, X-Ecuter 2.2 Lite and X-Ecuter 2.2 Pro

    and why would I choose one over the other.

    Cheers,
    Shaz
     
  19. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    woo there thats a big question lol.

    i think the main difference between the 2.2lite and pro is that the lite comes pre-flashed with cromwell bios, while the pro comes without any bios. Also its possilbe to store 4x256k bioses on the pro, while only 2x512k is available on the lite (not exactly a problem though - i've only ever used one)

    TBH i choose the lite when the xbit wasnt around, and it just seems the easiest way to get it working. Ive heard the while the xbits can do just about everything you can imagine, they are a real dog to setup.

    there are many other little differences, far to many for me to remember, so the best advice i can give you is to head over to www.xbox-scene.com and take a look:)
     
  20. zcaps57

    zcaps57
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, Shaz. :)

    Don't worry about getting banned from Live. Most of the mod chips (if not all) come with a on/off switch. So whenever you feel like playing on Live, you can 'switch off' mod chips, and the modded XBOX becomes just like 100% normal retail XBOX. :D

    As for the premodded.co.uk, although I don't have any experience with them, I've heard only good things about them. I think they're reliable.

    I do not have my XBOX modded yet, but I am considering it. :) BTW, my XBOX is US version.

    P.S. Shaz, get Live. I can't wait to see you on Live! :D
     
  21. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually met the owner of Premodded over the weekend - nice chap & extremely helpful.

    As others have said, nothing but good things said about Premodded.

    He recommended the Xecuter 2.2 Lite which I went with & everything's OK (well, I hope so :) - see my other thread).

    Just get the Northern Monkey installer disc - as easy as pie :)
     
  22. dogma6

    dogma6
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi,

    I'm also looking to chip mny xbox, has anyone tried the solderless chip?, I think it's called the Chamleon?

    I like the idea of buying this mod & being able to fit it myself without any soldering involved :cool:

    Any info would be gr8

    Cheers
     
  23. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8

    Hope this helps. it was useful to me.

    http://www.premodded.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=28
     
  24. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8

    Hiya :)

    Thanks for your advice, I have become a lot wiser about xbox
    modifications etc.... a friend said to me "so what if it all goes wrong,
    just buy another xbox, there so cheap".. so he convinced me!!

    And abt xbox live... I can't wait! Im just waiting for Counter-Strike
    and Halo 2. ....sigh... if only i didn't need to goto work.

    I was on xbox live at a friends place ... I played Rainbow 6 pt 3
    and Moto GP, it was great fun.Except on MotoGP some "enlightened"
    ones were riding their bikes the other way
    at high speed. :) LOL

    Cya,
    Shaz
     
  25. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8

    Hi James

    Thanks for your advice and helpful web link.

    Cheers,
    Shaz
     
  26. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Does anyone know if you have to disconnect the ethernet cable (i.e. break connection with broadband) if you boot with the chip on.

    Every time I boot with mod enabled I disconnect it from BB because some games try to boot straight into XBL. Do I need to do this (I'm not brave enough to just try it just in case :) )
     
  27. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go on, be brave :D

    Would like to know this too..........anyone?
     
  28. GrannySmith

    GrannySmith
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    278
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    Messiah, you have a PM.
     
  29. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Messiah, top man, that's what I like about these forums, so many good people willing to help out :smashin:

    Regards
    John
     
  30. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339

    Well, I did it. So long as you boot to the EvoX menu you're fine. The downside though is if you intentionally or accidentaly choose MS Dashboard from the EvoX menu, and have the XBox set to automatically log in, then you'll be snookered as the chip will still be active (or at least the modified BIOS will be).

    As I was on saturday night :(

    Selected MS Dashboard by mistake and by the time I saw on screen what was happening it had logged in. Allowed me to carry on playing but when I wnet to log in last night I got the dreaded 'Modoified Software' message and my XBox had been banned.

    Luckily I had a few here that I had modded for people and one of them is never likley yo go on XBL so a quick mobo swap later and all was well (for mine anyway).

    Moral of the story. Don't leave anything to chance. If I had only one viewing room I would definietly have two Xboxes. One modded and one standard for XBL use. As it is I have the lounge and the HC room and there's no way I can justify four XBoxes.

    Shows how easily mistakes can happen as I even have 'push to make' switches so there is no way you can leave the chip on. It is off by default. I have no changed the settings to ensure it does not log in automatically and also set the EvoX settings to use a manual (incorrect) IP address so I always have to switch the settings before booting in. An extra level of safety.

    Be careful :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...