Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Which Wireless Broadband Modem???

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by Complete Novice, Jun 6, 2005.

1. Complete Novice

Complete Novice
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    We have recently transferred from Dial Up to Broadband and, as we have two PC's, we want to be able to allow two people to use both at the same time, including being on the internet.

Could anyone give me some advice as to what is the best thing to use in order to do this? We thought wireless would be best as, at present, the two PC's are in seperate rooms and I don't really want anymore wires in this house!!!

As we are not flush at the moment the price is also a big issue. :thumbsup:

2. MattTheBeanster

MattTheBeanster

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +100
    I have and recommend the Netgear DG834G. Amazon are selling it for £69.99. Not the fastest pc to pc but very reliable.

3. tim k

tim k

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    i used to have a netgear router but it was really difficult to setup p2p downloading, as you need to change the ports. i now have the bt 1250 wireless router which i got from ebay for £40. bit of a bargain and works fine. it cuts out once in a while but i think thats cause im using aol on a bt modem.

4. The Dude

The Dude
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,602
    I'd recommend the Netgear too.. :smashin:

I've had one myself, installed quite a few for mates, and never had a problem with one so far.

They come with a removable antennae (?) too, which can be a godsend if you do have wireless problems, as a <£10 upgrade can save the day.