Which tv to go for

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by Ice-9, Aug 13, 2006.

Tags:
  1. Ice-9

Ice-9

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi , i'm new to this looking for a new telly stuff, it just seems so much to look at. After doing a lot of looking about i have got it down to 2 different sets that might be what i want and price is also a restricting matter. Anyway the two models i'm looking at are the Toshiba 32WLT66 and the Samung LE32R74BDX. if i can i would try and stretch to the 37" versions. Does anyone have any advice as to which would be the best or even a different option.

2. Nielo TM

Nielo TM

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +549
    I would recommend 32" Toshiba and BRAVIA over Samsung due to superior picture quality. The new JVC DX aren’t bad but they have some issue on SD sources (more on that here).

3. Oenone

Oenone

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Toshiba is also about £50 cheaper than the Samsung at the moment.

The Bravia sets carry a £300 extra premium over the Samsung's so I'd say it's not worth considering if you are on a budget.

Samsung use the same S-PVA panels as Sony so you will get the same good black levels (1300:1 contrast ratio) and wide viewing angles but Samsung displays do suffer when being fed lower quality SD resolution footage like Freeview or standard Sky as the Image processing is nowhere near as good as Sony's Bravia.

Toshiba has been criticised for poor black levels in its larger sets, only 800:1 contrast ratio for the 42” and a reasonable 1000:1 for the 37”. The 32” has a respectable 1200:1 contrast ratio and may handle SD sources a bit better. Another factor is that the Toshiba’s cannot do 1:1 pixel mapping to it’s full native resolution over the VGA port. This will only be an issue if you need to connect a PC or XBOX 360.

I’d suggest going down the store and looking at both sets to see which one you prefere.

4. Nielo TM