1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which speakers???

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Stevemj, Dec 11, 2001.

1. Stevemj

Stevemj

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to this home cinema stuff. Have got a Hitachi 36 inch tv, but as I have moved recently I thought it was time to sort the audio out. Read a couple of mags and popped into sevenoakes, more confused than ever.

Could any of you help me in speaker selection, Kef eggs, sevenoakes recomended the energy encore have read good things about the kseries from m&k. I know there is a lot of price difference but budget is flexible (within reason, I've only been at this for a week and can already see all my money vanishing).

I think I will go for a Denon 3802 and get a new dvd player, have an old hitachi at the momement.

I have held off for long enough and its time to get some decent kit so any advice would be greatly appreciated. (Please don't bancrupt me!!!!)

2. Desticado

Desticado

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi Steve.
    Im no expert but I think im about a month ahead of you.
    I just got a 36" tosh CRT set and wanted to sort out my home AV kit as I had been making do for quite some time.

After much questioning on this site I went for the Kef2005 AV speakers. They give an excellent sound (to my ear), look very stylish and are quite small for easily tucking away on shelves or screwing onto walls. I shopped around and got the Kef's for £620 from M&D Design fantastic service and next day delivary. Rang me to say the stands were out of stock so they would send the speakers to save me waiting and they would pay the postage to send the stands seperately when they arrived.