1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which speaker cables & interconnects?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by virtualpt, May 15, 2005.

1. virtualpt

virtualpt
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I have just bought Arcam CD 192, Exposure 3010 Integrated Amp & a pair of PMC DB1+

What interconnects & speaker cables do I need to do these justice please?

I have seen recommendations for Mark Grant's cables, how do these compare to say the Atlas Explorer? Do I need to spend that much for this system? Would the Equator suffice?

And for speaker cable, how does Mark's stuff compare to say Atlas 2+1.1 Bi-Wire, or QED Silver Anniversary?

Many thanks for all of your help. I'm a total newbie when it comes to this :)

Paul

2. CJROSS

CJROSS

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +343
    Van Damme Blue Series Speaker Cables from Maplins (£1.99/ 2x2.5mm2 or £2.99/ 2x4mm2)
    CAT5 DIY speaker cables.
    Mark Grant Stereo ICs

Buy those (or make those) and see what you think.

3. virtualpt

virtualpt
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks CJRoss, do Maplins sell them with plugs attached, I'm not really confident with the whole soldering DIY stuff? :eek: Can I use these to bi-wire?

Paul

4. pwood

pwood

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +137
    Best thing to do is ring round your local dealers and arrange a home trail of several cables. Personally I use Ecosse dedicated biwire with great results. Russ Andrews.com Kimber cable is also very good even in single wire config using jumper cables)some would say its pricey . I would advise also getting a decent mains cable for the CD player but dont go daft on price. both Russ andrews Yello and Ecosse ones are good value.