Which soundfield for everyday 5.1/7.1 use?

jimmynewshoes

Standard Member
Please forgive the massive newbness of the questions.

I bought a new Sony receiver recently, have got 7 speakers set up (having a bit of trouble with the .1 - my old sub doesn't have coax in), got a decent Epson projector and have got a range if sources sorted:

New Sony 3D Blu Ray player
i-can freeview HD set top box (SD and HD freeview, I think this transmits surround if it receives it)
Western Digital media streamer
Xbox

Questions:

The sources are all connected by HDMI, am not separating digital audio out to the receiver - not even sure whether I should be doing this or not.

I've got no experience with the various soundfields the receiver offers - which should I use for everyday viewing?

Thanks!

avbahn

It's personal I guess. Try what you like the most. I use DTS Neo6: Movie for stereo to multichannel output.

Quaddy

its a very personal thing, just to say that on some receivers there is an option to automatically output a certain soundfield based on what signal it receives

for example, on my onkyo, for freesat use, i have told the receiver that if it receives a standard stereo signal from the channels, ie, bbc news - then output 'all channel stereo' soundfield

if it receives a 5.1 signal, ie, bbc one/hd (sometimes) then output a surround decode option rather than splitting it to all my speakers, do it discrete channels, in my case 'audyssey dsx' or 'tv logic' - so i get the 5.1

but best/safe bet, is if you dont have the ability in the receiver to auto adjust like this, then you would be safe using a soundfield, similarly named like surround decode, or straight decode or similar, so if you get a 2.0 signal, it will play it as 2.0, if you get 5.1 it will play it as 5.1 etc

PSM1

Distinguished Member
As above it is a personal thing, I use Dolby Prologic Movie for all viewing that is not 5.1.