1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Sony Camcorder has analogue input and dv in/out?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by smsmasters, Jul 14, 2005.

  1. smsmasters

    smsmasters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    337
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    I've been looking at the Sony DCR-HC series.

    I'm thinking about buying the Sony DCR-HC39 but I'm not sure if it has analogue inputs so that I can use it to transfer (digitise) old video tapes onto my PC. Which Sony Camcorder allows this and also has dv in/out?

    Thanks
     
  2. smsmasters

    smsmasters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    337
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    I've looked around the internet and found this JVC model: http://www.jvc.co.uk/product.php?id=GR-DX97EK

    Looks like it has analogue inputs. Do you think this would allow me to transfer my old video tapes to my pc?

    Also, I'm not sure what the "Digital Colour NightScope" feature means.
     
  3. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,381
    I had a quick look at the Sony.co.uk web site and the following camcorders are listed as having AV-in enabled:

    HC-32E
    HC-42E

    The HC-49E does not list if it has AV-in enabled in its specs.
    If a camcorder has AV-in enabled, then it will also have DV-in enabled.

    All digital camcorders are poor in low light conditions, therefore most makers will have something similar to "Digital Colour NightScope" to allow filming in very low light conditions. Some are very poor and others are not too bad, depending on what you are after. Just don't expect the results to be that good!

    Mark.
     
  4. smsmasters

    smsmasters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    337
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks for the reply. So with analogue inputs can I connect my

    VCR>Camcorder>PC

    and digitise my old tapes like an analogue capture device?
     
  5. smsmasters

    smsmasters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    337
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
  6. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,381
    Some camcorders will allow direct to PC capture of a connected analogue device. Others will make you record to a DV tape before you can capture, but I think this is not the normal way.
    To do the analogue capture you will work exactly as if captureing a DV tape except you need to disable device control as the cam will not control the VCR etc. Also due to this it will be easier to just capture the whole tape as a single file, rather than individual scenes as you would from DV.

    Mark.
     
  7. smsmasters

    smsmasters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    337
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    I ended up buying the Sony HC42E, very pleased with it :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...