1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which sky+ Box

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by jonnyv, May 28, 2003.

  1. jonnyv

    jonnyv
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    2,143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +41
    Im seriously thinking about getting sky plus, which box should i get ?

    I have sky already and have a sony digibox, the nice slim silver one.
     
  2. jonnyv

    jonnyv
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    2,143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +41
    It appears from talking to sky, they only do the pace box

    Can anyone tell me if it has rgb output ?
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Amstrad have the rights to build one but aren't expected on the market until later in the year if not next year.
    Yes the SKY+ has a RGB scart, the scart connections are standard across all digiboxes with SKY+ also having a DD5.1 enabled optical output and a s-video output which has previously only been on a few Grundig models.

    If you ordered now you should get the revised PACE SKY+, smaller and whiter than the original design.
     
  4. jonnyv

    jonnyv
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    2,143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +41
    Thanks starburst, that answers my questions..

    What channels use dd5.1 ? I asume the movie channels only ?

    Thanks
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Yes just the movie channels which is a shame since some US programs are made with a DD5.1 soundtrack option.

    From 3rd June when SKY switches to an optional w/s format for it's movie channels and selected SKY1 programming (Which looks pretty pathetic atm) the SKY Movies Premier 1,2 and 3 channels should also carry DD5.1 soundtracks.
     
  6. jonnyv

    jonnyv
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    2,143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +41
    I think i'll stick with sky digital, i dont have the movie channels and i rarely tape anything.

    Thanks
     
  7. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    I rarely taped anything, or even watched much television until I got Sky+. Once you setup a few potentially interesting programmes for it to record for you each week, it's quite useful to say okay I'll watch that now i.e. when it suits you or just press the erase button. Also the pause and rewind live television is useful too. Now I have it, I wouldn't be without it.

    And made my old Sony digibox into a FTA one with a quick phone call to BBC and a run of coax to the quad-LNB.

    StooMonster
     
  8. jonnyv

    jonnyv
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    2,143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +41
    Just ordered my sky+ box, being fitted this sunday ! Thats service for you.

    Ive requested the new pace box, are they all the new models now ?
     
  9. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Only the new version is being manufactured now and the the older design should have left the supply chain a month or so ago.
    From reading other forums and groups it seems all new SKY+ subscribers are getting the latest design.
     
  10. Party Animal

    Party Animal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    I got an email today from Sky as to which box is being supplied, they say that all new installs are now using the version 2 box
     
  11. jonnyv

    jonnyv
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    2,143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +41
    Thanks party animal, i was going to refuse it if the engineer turned up with the old style.
     

Share This Page

Loading...