1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Scart lead?

Discussion in 'TVs' started by MLAM, Jan 19, 2003.

1. MLAM

MLAM

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +80
    I'm a complete novice to scart leads, I've read on here that a decent scart can make a big difference to pic compared to a cheapo one,

Can anyone recommend me a good scart lead?

thanks

2. jim.rae

jim.rae

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0

3. jim.rae

jim.rae

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry about that... guess I hit the wrong button...

There is much myth around about connection leads of all kinds and there are a number of dealers around who will sell you leads for around the price of a small car!

Now that's not to say at the highest level of equipment, people with very acute eyesight and hearing can't experience any difference.

But for most of us with domestic equipment, there's absolutely no point in paying a fortune for leads - you won't experience any improvement in performance.

Generally, the leads which come from reputable manufacturers - Sony, Panasonic etc with the kit are fine.

I would avoid market stalls and the like and for a SCART lead, the most I would pay is around £20.

As someone pointed out - the sockets they are feeding are of only medium quality and I can see no point in putting a £120 gold plated lead into a 50p socket on the TV!

What's important is that all pins are connected and properly shielded from each other and fit the socket properly...

No worries...

4. MLAM

MLAM

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +80
    Thanks for reply Jim, interesting comments there.

Is a IXOS 126-AV Scart a good one? as its only bout £25 at Empire Direct at ythe moment and I'm planning to get one, or is there more better ones out there?

5. alle v

alle v
    Standard Member

Products Owned: