1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Router ????

Discussion in 'PS Vita Forum' started by jerkyboy, Sep 2, 2005.

Tags:
  1. jerkyboy

    jerkyboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to get a Router so that I can connect my PC and Xbox via Ethernet cables, and be able to surf the net wirelessly on my laptop and PSP.

    Can anyone recommend which model to go for.

    Thanks
     
  2. BuFF DaDDy

    BuFF DaDDy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    3,287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +146
    I use a 3com router at home, I use it to surf the net on my centrino laptop and now my PSP, the PSP detected it without any problems what so ever.

    No I can sit in any room or in the garden (Like today as its been nice) and surf the net!
     
  3. peteyoung

    peteyoung
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    ive got a linksys wrt54g router, its affordable, wireless b+g for both ur psp and laptop, 54mbps which is great for transferring files over ur home network, 4 ethernet ports for ur wired devices and finally really easy to use!
     
  4. jerkyboy

    jerkyboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Guys.

    I have Telewest Cable Broadband, will these routers work OK with this ?.
     
  5. dimples

    dimples
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hey Pete,

    I have the same router but have no idea as to how to get the psp connected through it, any chance of giving me some pointers on it?

    Cheers
     
  6. fozziebear39

    fozziebear39
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    993
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Newton-le-Willows
    Ratings:
    +43
    No. The majority of combined ADSL modem, wireless router are for ADSL phone lines. A specific 'modem' is required for cable.
    If the box that your broadband comes out of has an ethernet port then you can just plug a wireless acces point into that.
    I have a Netgear DG834G which works great with PSP. That plugs into BT line. They do a version the WGR614 which seems the same model apart from the modem. Ask Telewest what they support. Any wireless system should work with PSP.
     
  7. chrislad

    chrislad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,615
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Rep. of Ireland
    Ratings:
    +137
    All you have to do, literally, is have a wireless network set up. If you do, just get the WEP key. That can be accessed via the router IP address (normally found in the manual). If you don't have a wireless network set up, you'll have to set one up via the router IP (or if there is router software), and follow the same steps (ie WEP Key)
     
  8. dimples

    dimples
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +9
    Thanks. I discovered that all I needed to do was turn on the wifi switch on the PSP! But when I look at the info of my connection it says security=none, which I will have to resolve at some stage!
     
  9. peteyoung

    peteyoung
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    to set up security just go to 192.168.1.1 then select wireless then wireless security and u can choose the type u want, for u either wep or wpa-tkip, wpa is more secure though, either way whichever you choose just enter a code or phrase of your choice then enter that on your psp
     
  10. dimples

    dimples
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +9
    Thanks Pete :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...