1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which remote?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by jenic, Mar 23, 2005.

  1. jenic

    jenic
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,871
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +179
    I need a remote that will control:

    TV = Panasonic TX28PM1C
    Home Cinema = Panasonic SCHT520
    Video = Unknown Toshiba
    Xbox
    PS2
    Freeview = Sagem 62
    Lights = Remote lights unknown make
    Curtains = Remote curtains unknown make

    I would prefer it to have a screen and macro functions. It must be able to learn new functions and be future compatible with common projectors and projector screens.

    Prefer to spend less than £60 but can stretch to £100
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Harmony H655 will control all you IR devices and can be had for under £100 (£99 SRP) not touch screen (OFA Kameleon or Mosaic are touch options under £100)
     
  3. lupo

    lupo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Berwick upon Tweed
    Ratings:
    +6
    I agree with hornydragon. I have just purchased a Harmony H655 ( Dixons! £69.99).
    It does take a while to set it up, but even my wife likes it :)
    I had a Marantz RC2000, It was not wife friendly.

    The harmony has a help button, If you have pressed the button 'watch a movie' and for example the dvd player does not switch on.
    Press help and it asks you questions to sort out the problem.

    It seems quite clever in remembering what pieces of equipment need switched on or off. If I want to use my dvd recorder it knows whether or not the freeview box needs switched on, or is already on.
     
  4. jenic

    jenic
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,871
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +179
    Thanks, after looking at the harmony i think i will definitly buy it.
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    £69.99 Utter madness!!!!!!!!! (thats below trade cost price!!!) DSG do like to loose money!
     
  6. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,772
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +827
    i bought a kameleon about 2 years ago and i found it ok to use. (i had a pronto before that - but we dont talk abouts death its too sad). Last week i bought a Harmony for £70 and i have to say that i'm very impressed with it.

    its taken me a while to set it up as i dont have net access at home (and the setup program really doesn't like my "work's firewall")

    but now its done itr fantastic to use and i'd recomend it to anyone.

    and like other people, my other half likes it too :clap:




    Gary
     
  7. Tarsh

    Tarsh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got the last one in my local Dixons for £69.99, cheaper than eBay :clap:

    It was obviously a return or demo as the box seals were cut and the batteries were loose, but there's no marks on the remote :thumbsup:

    Setting it up now, seems easy enough. A few niggles to tweak but I've only been at it about half an hour & the best part is it controls my Telewest box, so it truly does replace ALL my remotes (currently 6).
     
  8. cowlid

    cowlid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had a Harmony for a week and it just keeps getting better and better!

    The only problem I've had (channels moving two or more channels at a time) was sorted by a quick email to logitech and they sorted out the problem within 24 hours.

    Go for it, you won't regret it!

    Dave
     
  9. Des Flurane

    Des Flurane
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a 676, does what it says it will do, all 5 of my other remotes are in the drawer and it has WAF, need I say more!
    Des.
     

Share This Page

Loading...