Answered Which receiver for Atmos 5.1.4 setup?

lunazero

I am a real novice when it comes to purchasing receivers and speakers so any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated. My plan is for a 5.1.4 setup. And just wondering which receivers would power all these channels without purchasing an extra power amp? At the moment interested in Yamaho RX-A3070, Denon AVR-X6400, Marantz SR7012 or Onkyo TX-RZ3100. Finding it difficult to choose between them. However have a demo booked this week to hear selection of speakers with Yamaha and Onkyo.

Anton2015

Distinguished Member
I am a real novice when it comes to purchasing receivers and speakers so any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated. My plan is for a 5.1.4 setup. And just wondering which receivers would power all these channels without purchasing an extra power amp? At the moment interested in Yamaho RX-A3070, Denon AVR-X6400, Marantz SR7012 or Onkyo TX-RZ3100. Finding it difficult to choose between them. However have a demo booked this week to hear selection of speakers with Yamaha and Onkyo.

I’m sure you’ll get a lot of replies on this thread but I also have a 5.1.4 setup.

For the last 2 years or so I had a Yamaha 3050.

I recently upgraded to the Denon X6400H and all I can say is WOW!!!

From the second I turned it on it literally destroyed my Yamaha. It sounded like my system had come alive.

Audyssy setup seems to be much better for me, Atmos / DTS: X have never sounded this good. Not even close, but then so has default DD upmixed.

Bass management is excellent too!

Setup was easy, the app is great and I have literally no complaints.

I only upgraded really to get DV bypass option and just wanted to keep the sounds as good, I had no idea the uplift I was going to get.

Easily one of the best upgrades I’ve ever made.

Also, remember it’s 11 channel so you got a couple spare channels should you ever wanna add more speakers.