1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Radeon for new HTPC?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by BrianCurran, Jan 6, 2003.

  1. BrianCurran

    BrianCurran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    From what I have read here and on the AVS Forum, a Radeon based card seems to be the preferred option.

    No doubt you are all aware there are several different manufacturers building Radeon based cards.

    From your experience which are the ones to use?

    I'm thinking of a 9000 PRO 128 MB but I can't decide on a manufacturer.

    I am currently using a MATROX G400 MAX DH which has served me well, but I think there should be room for improvement.

    Hope you can help.

    Thanks in advance:)
     
  2. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    I'm one of the few that thinks the 9000 isn't very good. Its OK but its designed as a low cost budget card. The 8500 is essentialy the same as a 9000 but the board quality is much better, but the card to go for at the moment is the 9500 pro.
     
  3. BrianCurran

    BrianCurran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have this card?
    Who manufactured it?

    On the AVS forums there were discussions about "rolling bars" in the output from 9700 and 9500 cards.

    It was described as a grounding problem.
     
  4. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    I have the Saphire branded 9500 pro, but its a standard ATI reference board. I guess it was even made by ATI since it has an ATI fan on it. I havn't had any problems with the card.
     
  5. phcjpp

    phcjpp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the sapphire branded 9700 pro - must admit it rocks. Just built a state of the art HTPC 'IMHO :)' all works very well. Maybe look at the abit IT7 Max2 motherboard that is rock solid too. Using a digi RME96 pad for the sound and have one of the LMP-pc cases to boot. Also the H3D card is rather nice also. Feel free to pm me if you have further questions.

    C
     
  6. BrianCurran

    BrianCurran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi C

    Its actually an IT7 Max I have on order !!

    Unfortunately my budget won't stretch to 9700 card.

    What resolution are you running?

    Thanks
     
  7. phcjpp

    phcjpp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its running at 1368 / 668 or something like that 720P I think straight into my projector (Sony HT10).

    Chris
     
  8. henry1234

    henry1234
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Ratings:
    +8
    I have almost decided on the 9500Pro for my P.C. I want good games performance but DVD play back is the most important.

    I have the following motherboard:

    ABIT KT7A-RAID Socket-A KT133A ATX

    It's about 2 years old. I have heard about problems with radeons and Via chipsets. Does anyone know if I am likely to encounter problems with my mb.
     
  9. phcjpp

    phcjpp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Check www.rage3d.com under the 9700/9500 forum under motherboards.

    Chris
     

Share This Page

Loading...