1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Projector

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by lee_car, Sep 21, 2005.

1. lee_car

lee_car

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    hi im very new to projectors and to be honest ive never seen one working (except pubs etc) am i right in thinking they are better pq than a plasma? i only want it to watch dvds mainly at night and will prob get a pull down screen, what would be a good cheap second hand projector to start off with? if i like it i will buy a better model but as i say im new to this i dont really want to spend too much at the mo,what is the limit to how close you can have it to the screen?

thanks lee

2. Knyght_byte

Knyght_byte

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +599
    my advice? find a shop near you that has a demo room, ask them to show you a budget range DLP and a budget range LCD in action......then watch a plasma.......see what you prefer.......then ask them to show you a higher range model (both DLP and LCD), say £2,500-£3,500 (assuming your budget could get that high)..

given that you said it would mostly be for films later at night (ie its dark) i think you will find a PJ a very happy experience.....i know i do, well chuffed to get mine (look for a thread in this section called Woohooo im gonna be HD, lol, its my thread about getting my PJ)