1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Projector Should I Buy?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by infomatique, Dec 1, 2001.

1. infomatique

infomatique

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have very little knowledge or understanding of LCD projectors and a limited budget but I am currently considering the following:
    Sony VPL-HS1 (This has received a number of good reviews and one bad review).
    Philips Munroe LC6131
    Hitachi PJ-LC2001
    Toshiba MT3

What model should I go for?

2. Jules

Jules

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +754
    Hi,
    I've had my Sony HS-1 for 2 weeks now.
    I've not seen the others you mention, but I'm absolutely delighted with my purchase, and would definately recommend it if your budget is around 2K.
    I was considering a VW11HT at nearly 5K, and while there were
    differences between the two, they were no where near 3k's worth of difference.
    The HS-1 has good colour, decent black level, good detail, is suprisingly quiet, light weight & flexible. I got mine with a free screen for £1699.... a steal!

The only downer is that it's a desk top design and can't be used from the ceiling.
    However, I have mine perched on top a cabinet about 1 foot above head height when seated, and angled down slightly towards the screen. There is keystone correction for this but you
    can't use the 'side shot' feature at the same time.

3. Guest

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jules

Any hint on who your supplier was ?

Regards

chandip

4. Walter mitty

Walter mitty
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    Did I read somewhere that this PJ has a maximum screen size of 60"? i thought I did and it put me off

5. gavan

gavan

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +286