1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Projector - DLP or LCD

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by rscott4563, Jan 24, 2003.

1. rscott4563

rscott4563
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi there, sorry but I'm new to projectors and I was wanting some information to help me make my decision on which way to go.

Firstly DLP or LCD, I'd always heard that DLP gave a far better quality image than LCD, but now apparantly Sony have a new generation of LCD projectors which could turn things around?

Secondly what would be the best of each for my needs, I'm looking at having about a 5-6ft 16:9 screen viewed from about 12-15ft away, mainly showing DVD's from my Denon 2800MKII PAL progressive with some Sky digital viewing and a bit of Xbox gaming. Most T.V viewing is already taken care of via 32"CRT. I'd want something that was good with some ambient light evident as I wouldn't want to have to completely blackout all the time.

My budget would be around £5000 for projector and screen.

Your help is most appreciated.

Thanks, Scotty

2. Smurfin

Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,328
    DLP:

Positives:

Better black levels than LCD (much deeper on the whole)
    NO screendoor
    No dead pixels (a big plus)
    Good colour renditioning

Negatives:

Suffers from artefacting (so do many LCDs)
    Rainbow effect
    Many lamps have a short life

LCD:

Positives:

Sharp picture
    Good colour renditioning
    Longer lamp life (generally)
    No "rainbow effect".

Negatives:

Poorer blacks then DLP (varies, and LCD is getting better all the time)
    Can suffer from "vertical banding" (varies)
    Dead pixels :)mad: )
    Screendoor (very subjective, the PTAE-300 and HS10 dont suffer from this)