Which Processor/Power Amp should I buy

Northmoorblue

Standard Member
Reaction score
I am thinking of going for a Processor / Power Amp combi. I am a complete novice, so would like some opinions & experiences on which makes or models you would recommend I should consider.

It will be used for music, but will have a biased towards films. I would also like it to do up conversion if possible.

I have a budget circa £2K. Where should I put my money?

Northmoorblue

Rotel RSP 1068 Processor
Rotel RB 1075 Power Amp 5 channel.
approx £1800 rrp

Don't see why you can't get it for £1550 - £1600 if you haggle hard or less if you get a second hand.

Then you spend the rest on a DVD player :) If you actually have £2000 to spend on just the amp / processor then get a 2 channel as well 1070 for the front L and R that way you get 7 channels of amplification and you should be able to haggle and get that for around 2000 I would have thought.

Steff

Oh... I know you said processor / power... but you could also consider say an Arcam AVR300 and a P90 to bi-amp the front 2. I bet this would be a pretty darn good combo for sub £2,000.

If you go second hand then TAG etc...

TBH if buying new then I think the option recommended by booktrunk is the only processor/power combi within your price range. You may well get different power amps, but there is a definate lack of processors at around this price point (and even at a fair bit more).
I can also agree that the Arcam AVR-300 would be an excellent compromise and if only running at 5.1 you can use the 2 spare amps to bi-amp the fronts.
If you do want to go for a processor then there are many very good s/h processors available - often a couple in the classifieds section of this forum that you can be fairly sure has been well looked after by another enthusiast.

Mark.