1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Plasma?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Rich1701, Jan 1, 2005.

1. Rich1701

Rich1701

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a newbie to the Plasma arena and would very much like anyones views on the following models:

Pioneer PDP435XDE v Panny TH42PE30

I have a about 3K to spend and swayed toward the Pioneer due to the HDMI connection and the greater resolution. However, I don't think "What Plasma" liked it as much as the HDE and suggested it is better suited to the DVD than satellite.

The only thing that really bugs me about the Plasmas is the extortionate prices for accessories. I mean we all have to hang it or stand it up somewhere!!

I am also slighty put off by SKY's plan to introduce HDCP in 2006 as I cannot find a TV that is compliant with HDCP.
    Thanks

2. wicket

wicket

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10
    I love the TH42PE30, just got it before Christmas so I would recommend it. It has won a lot of awards. This tv is often sold with a free stand/wall mount/tabletop stand. I was not too bothered about the fact that Sky will be broadcasting HD in 2006. The boxes are probably going to be expensive and I do not tend to take on new technology straight away in any case. So we are enjoying our new 42 inch screen now.

One word of warning though once you get a big screen tv you will never want to go back to a 32 inch or below screen. It makes such a difference.

3. Mep

Mep

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +468
    that's definitely true...I moved my 32" into the family room where we have sky+ and the xbox and ps2 but now it feels like a portable!

4. rufus

rufus
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Rich1701,