Which output for HD Satellite Receiver; 720p or 1080i ?

underscore

Standard Member
Hi guys,
I recently just got my first plasma (panny 42X10). I hooked up my Dreambox 800HD receiver to it and set the output to 720p. However I noticed that there is an option to output at 1080i. Would this be better? I'm new to the HD world so I could use a few pointers. I read somewhere on these forums that the Panny's, the HD ready ones, upscale everything up to 1080p then downscale them again.... something to do with producing one video chip for all their models.
So again, which output would yield better results. 720p or 1080i? :confused: Most of the channels are SD with a few HD channels like Discovery and National Geographic.

grahamlthompson

Distinguished Member
Hi guys,
I recently just got my first plasma (panny 42X10). I hooked up my Dreambox 800HD receiver to it and set the output to 720p. However I noticed that there is an option to output at 1080i. Would this be better? I'm new to the HD world so I could use a few pointers. I read somewhere on these forums that the Panny's, the HD ready ones, upscale everything up to 1080p then downscale them again.... something to do with producing one video chip for all their models.
So again, which output would yield better results. 720p or 1080i? :confused: Most of the channels are SD with a few HD channels like Discovery and National Geographic.
For broadcast HD normally the original 1080i will give the best results certainly with a 1920 x 1080 display. For SD material it largely depends on the quality of the 800HD's scaler as against the TV's. Why not try all the available starting with 576i and don't forget to try 576I from RGB scart for SD material you might be surprised to find a better picture from scart than hdmi for SD source material

grahamlthompson

Distinguished Member