1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which one?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by nicksurrey72, Apr 12, 2005.

  1. nicksurrey72

    nicksurrey72
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    If you had the choice of either Pioneers PDP43MXE1 or Panny TH42PHD7 which one would u go for? I can have either with no cost difference!

    And just to make sure, whats the best 42"Plasma available at the moment?

    Cheers

    Nick
     
  2. nicksurrey72

    nicksurrey72
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does no one have a view?

    I am owed a screen by someone and I need to decide which one to request today, I can (within reason) have either of the ones mentioned above or potentially something else if it is better??

    Please help!

    Thanks
     
  3. JohnCCFC

    JohnCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    You may wish to search the forums for these models and whether they are truely HD. I believe the HD7 has an issue (50Hz/60Hz) don't know about the MXE1.

    Read up BEFORE you buy !!!!

    You have been warned. DO NOT rush into a purchase (unless you don't care about money of course).
     
  4. nicksurrey72

    nicksurrey72
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I have spent hours reading through review etc and I still cannot get to a definitive answer to my problem. Maybe they are as good as each other and I need to make a choice based on looks?

    SO - PDP43MXE1 or TH42PHD7?

    Ta

    Nick
     
  5. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    They are both not compatible with HDTV (MXE1 has no HDCP, Panasonic has no 50hz).

    Regardless they are two totally different pictures!! There is no "best plasma". The MXE1 strengths are brightness and fine detail, the Panasonic contrast and black levels. You need to see the both if you really want to ensure you are getting the best screen for *you*.

    [although on the other hand buy either and you will be impressed!]
     
  6. stevearliss

    stevearliss
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can this be overcome with the use of a scaler?
     
  7. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    No and yes. Scaler can convert to 60Hz to fit, but risk of obvious judder through the frame rate conversion. There again life is a compromise!!
     
  8. Sulis

    Sulis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you want HDCP compatability (ie. watch SKY HD in a year's time) in a 42" panel plasma (ie. no speakers/tuner) then AFAIK you are stuffed at the moment (I discount the new Fujitsu, as I saw it at Bristol and thought it poor compared to the 50" - it's an ALiS panel - see threads on pros/cons).

    If you can live with a TV plasma, then the Pioneer XPE is probably your best bet for now. In a few months there will also be the new Panny Viera HD, which would be my choice if you can hold on til May/June, otherwise it'll be September at least until the PAnny G8 panels come out...

    (There is supposed to be a card for the MXE that will make it accept HDCP HDMI, but it's still vapourware at the moment, and likely to cost a loopy amount when/if it does appear.)
     
  9. Tarsh

    Tarsh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    As Liam says it depends on personal preference, you need to see both with your own eyes, preferably side by side.

    I viewed the Pio XDE (not MXE) and the Panny PHD7 and preferred the Panny so that's what's on my wall.

    Get a demo & you should end up with 'your' perfect plasma :thumbsup:
     
  10. stevearliss

    stevearliss
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am confused as to why there is an issue; the brochure states that the panny supports both 720/50p and 60p.
     
  11. JohnCCFC

    JohnCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    I'll take a wild stab . .

    I think the DVI card (which I think is what would handle HDCP) can only take 60Hz. Another slot (i.e. VGA) can take 50Hz but is not HDCP compliant.
     
  12. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Correctamundo! DVI is limited to 50Hz for all but 576p signals.
     
  13. stevearliss

    stevearliss
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I may be completely off the mark here, but the DVI card isn't HDCP compliant anyway; therefore, could you use an HDCP compliant scaler to deal with the HDCP and output analogue to the monitor thus avoiding any frequency conversion.
     
  14. JohnCCFC

    JohnCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    I believe that it can be used as HDCP compliant as it's digital. The device feeding it will need to switch off it's own analogue outputs (to be compliant) to use HDCP stuff through it's DVI output and into the DVI card. You may need to verify this, I'm still new to all this.
     
  15. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    steve,

    The DVI card for the 7 series is HDCP compliant but as Liam says it doesn't handle the resolutions / timings that we need here in PAL land (and just to correct his minor typo it is limited to _60_ Hz for all but 576p signals). John is also correct when he says that the analogue outputs of the source device should be disabled when processing an HDCP source (assuming it is compliant).
     
  16. stevearliss

    stevearliss
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, that's all a lot clearer; although switching off analogue output is likely to convince me against bothering with HD Sky, not being able to pipe it to other rooms or recording stuff would be a major problem.
     
  17. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    I assume you will be able to run RGB, YUV, SVHS or whatever to other rooms at normal resolution.
     

Share This Page

Loading...