1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which one to choose? iPod, HD5 or Tosh Giga?

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by sapibobo, Aug 25, 2005.

Tags:
  1. sapibobo

sapibobo
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dear guys,

i am a newbie here. For all this time i am using my PDA Toshiba 800 to listen to my MP3s.
    I am seriously thinking to go to divergence side, to have things separately due to battery issues on some convergence devices like PDA, mobile phones, etc.

I am hanging around a bit in this forum and i get some knowledge but it starting to confuse me a bit.

So, as tittle, which should i buy? A famous iPod, Sony HD5 or Toshiba Giga? Three of them are available in my country.

What i look for :

a. I am desperately need for quality. I am willing to transfer all my collection to atrac3 or whatever as long as it gives me a high quality sounds. The problem is : does it?
    Some of you said iPod is the winner, some of you prefer HD5; which is the one?

b. To me, capacity of battery of an iPod is adequate, so i think i wont be so disturbed with battery capacity issues.

c. I am a favor of surround sound featured device. My toshiba PDA has GS Player, a free Pocket PC MP3 program with surround sound feature and it sounds great. I have a Pioneer HI FI sound system with SRS at home and the output is great. I tried Samsung Yepp with SRS and i love it too, too bad it lacks of capacity.
    Any of those three DAP provide surround sound feature or at least anywhere near it?

d. I like to hear new age music, such as Vangelis, Jean Michel Jarre, Enya, Enigma, Delerium, Schiller, etc; some techno-house such as DJ Sammy, Jam and Spoon (Tokyo Ghetto Pussy) etc; some eighties pop songs, etc. I rarely do the Rock Music; metal or anything too noisy.