1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which one to buy, that is the question

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by VT 4 CCTV, Jun 25, 2004.

1. VT 4 CCTV

VT 4 CCTV

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,
    I am a newbie to the forums, although i have read the forums threads for a few good weeks.
    Although i work in the cctv industry, the TV industry is awash with different technologies and standards and ways of configuring cabling methods. cctv is so much simpler, lol.

Anyway, my problem is that, i am looking to buy a plasma tv, but have trouble deciding what to buy.
    The wife says, as long as you are sure, you buy it. My budget is £2500, although i would save a little longer to get upto £2800.

So what is my problem ???
    I want the best possible image quality , viewing primarily, sky digital,and then DVD's. I have a 4 year old Panasonic A350 DVD player, multiregion chipped.

I am looking for the plasma to be either DVI or HDMI upgradable or existing on the plasma. I know its not worth talking about yet, in terms of usage, however, if it becomes usefull in 5 years time or so, the wife wont murder me, if i needed to buy a new plasma with DVI or HDMI.

I have recently bought the KEF 2005.2 and Yamaha RX-V640RDS receiver.
    I am looking to use the system with the plasma.

Having trapsed round several AV shops, some better then others, (Andrew Collies demo at AV sales, very impressive) i still find myself at odds with what is best.
    I started with the PW6 series. Very nice image from Freeview / sky digital.
    PDP434 has HDMI, bit pricey, but sky was worse than the panny.
    hhmmm , so more trapsing. Now i see the Panny 42PE30. Veryyy nice image from Freeview and Sky digi, little more expensive, looks easy to use for the wife and kids, BUT ooohh, no DVI or HDMI for the future wants and needs.