Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Which one.... help!!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Ricco, Aug 25, 2004.

1. Ricco

Ricco

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, i'm new to this (that's how most people start these sorts of threads)... so be gentle with me ;)

I am looking to buy a 42" Plasma, yes it has to be 42" and yes it has to be plasma... I have a budget of about 2k tops.

I have looked at so many different models and read all about different interface types but i still haven't managed to draw a conclusion. Sound isn't hugely importanat to me as i am planning on buying an amp and speakers etc but i would prefer an analogue tuner to get me going until i get sky hooked up (moving into a new house you see).

Things i have looked at so far...

Panasonic TH-42PW6B

Hyundai HPT-4240

LG RZ42PX11

Hitachi C42PD5200

Samsung PS42V4SX

The Hitachi i think is out of my price range (haven't found it cheap enough anywhere). The Panansonic is too confusing, not sure what plug in thingy i need or about the stand for it to stand up. The Hyundai has dodgy feet. Can't find much about the LG although i did read a report about a similar model in What Home Cinema that said the picture quality wasn't up to much and the same about the Samsung.

So, your challenge is to identify which one i should go for... stuff i want to plug in will be Sky Digital, Wharefdale DVD, PS2 & VCR. Not too fussed about the VCR though (rarely use it). Also, if i have a Home Cinema Amp, do i use that to plug in all the stuff or just connect everything to the Screen?

I'm no expert so not looking for intricat details between models, i jst want to make sure the picture quality will be good enough for my untrained eye and that i'm not gonna spend 2k on a sh*tter.