1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Media Player? (Streamium, Showcenter etc.)

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by janmars, Jun 16, 2005.

  1. janmars

    janmars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Looked at getting a Pinnacle Showcenter sometime last year, but decided at the time it wasn't quite what I was after. Now it seems the market has moved on a bit with a number of products that do the same sort of thing.

    So firstly I will list what I am after:

    - Support for MPEG, XviD and DivX formats.
    - Digital output for AC3 passthru
    - Wireless networking g not b
    - Scart RGB out
    - HDTV support a bonus but not essential.

    Obviously I want something that is stable and doesn't crash just because of a minor problem in a video file. I hear the Showcenter is very good when it comes to this issue.

    Looked so far at the Buffalo Linktheather, Philips Streamium and Pinnacle Showcenter. Whilst there are quite a few detrators for the Showcenter it appears to be the most versatile of the lot.

    Any thoughts and opinions would be a great help...
     
  2. janmars

    janmars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Anyone?
     
  3. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,466
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +187
    Wait a couple more months. Pinnacle are jsut about to release the SC200 which is HDTV ready. There are also others that will be releasing new boxes the likes of teh SC200 all of which will have faster hardware and easier to use software than the current crop.
     
  4. janmars

    janmars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Neat that's just what I wanted to hear.

    Any details of the SC200 anywhere - or even details on any of the other upcoming boxes?

    Thanks...
     
  5. tigermad

    tigermad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +276
    I am selling the showcenter 200. See my other thread
     
  6. branny

    branny
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pie Land
    Ratings:
    +202
    I had a show center and found it to be truly awful with constant hangs, crashes abd jitter.

    I sent it back to Ebuyer and posted my review. Suffice to say, they didn't post that one on the product page!!!!

    Avoid like the plague.

    Cheers
    Branny
     
  7. tigermad

    tigermad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +276
    There are no crashes or hangs on mine. The only reason I am selling is because hubby does not like on screen displays because you have to turn the plasma on first. The Showcenter 200 has had good reviews, thats why I bought it.
     
  8. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,466
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +187
    No probs with my showcenter either.
     
  9. branny

    branny
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pie Land
    Ratings:
    +202
    I had the 100g and it was terrible. Ar you guys doing this wireless (as I was) or via wired RJ45?

    Branny
     
  10. tigermad

    tigermad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +276
    I am doing it wireless. The connection is great. In fact the overall system is brilliant. Pity the other half doesnt like the display on screen. He doesnt like having to turn the tv or laptop on to play something.
     
  11. ChrisN

    ChrisN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    The Showcenter 200 is available from Dabs and Ebuyer. Ebuyer have spelt it "Showcentre" though :rolleyes:

    There is loads of good info on the Showcenter 200 here:

    Showcenter Consumer Forum

    Tigermad - Apologies if I'm being fick but I can't find the thread where you're selling yours. Has it already gone?!?!

    Chris
     
  12. tigermad

    tigermad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +276
    Yes Chris it has gone. There were no takers on here so went to the place that ryhmes with Teatray!

    It sold in less than an hour BIN!
     
  13. ChrisN

    ChrisN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Oh the word that rhymes with hugger ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...