1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which LNB?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by barney11, Jan 9, 2005.

  1. barney11

    barney11
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am going to fit Sky+ myself, which make of quad LNB would you recomend and how easy are they to fit?
    Cheers
    Dave
     
  2. KingOfGondor

    KingOfGondor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    i'm thinking about doing this too.
    two reasons really
    1. get the exact box i want
    2. cable goes exactly where i want it.

    my question is... if i book an installation, can i just ask for them to check my installation, fit an LNB and my subscription card?
    as the installation should be free, this stuff shouldn't cost anything, right?
     
  3. barney11

    barney11
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think it works like that,you only get free installation because you are buying there equipment.
    Dave
     
  4. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Too right it doesn't work like that. Free installation only if you get the kit from Sky and agree to have it connected to the phone line for 12 months.
     
  5. KingOfGondor

    KingOfGondor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    i see. ok thankyou. so i have two options that are mutually exclusive....
    1. fit entire setup myself and call them to send me a card and activate (my dad has sky downstairs i'm just adding sky+ with multiroom)

    2 let them do it all
     
  6. barney11

    barney11
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Recomendations on which Quad LNB still needed and how easy are they to fit :lease: .
    Cheers
    Dave
     
  7. bilsat

    bilsat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there.
    When choosing a LNB make sure that the LNB you use is disigned for the dish you have.If it is a Sky dish DO NOT use a LNB designed for a standard dish as the ilumination of the dish will be incorrect and the results willl be poor quality signals, weak signals from the two outside feeds etc...Pete
     

Share This Page

Loading...