1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Kameleon All for one do I buy

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by no_idea, Feb 7, 2005.

  1. no_idea

    no_idea
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Might not be the usual question but I want to do away with all my remotes & have the one. not a problem I hear you say BUT I'm not sure if there are any out there that will operate the SKy+ box.
    I've been searching the web & have found some quotes saying "the 2nd Gen Kameleon 6-in-1 should work" or try the URC9960 8-in-1.

    What I need is for someone that has one of these & to tell me if they really work.

    Is that person out there???
     
  2. bailda

    bailda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Stevenage
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have a second generation kameleon 6-in-1 (well, I'm pretty sure it is but as I'm at work I can't 100% check) and it works great on all of my apps.
    Sky+ was easy to setup and the only problem I had was I didn't know you have to press the scroll button twice when on Sky to bring all of the functions up Select, fast forwrd, rewind etc.
    Wouldn't go back to my regular remotes now.
     
  3. Ikki

    Ikki
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,173
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Location:
    Lancs
    Ratings:
    +97
    Which Kameleon All for one do I buy? ........ None :rotfl:

    Get a Harmony. :thumbsup:
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Ikki beat me to it Damn....................
    Harmony H655 is sooo much better for £99 (if you have a PC with internet and USB)
     
  5. GreenBars

    GreenBars
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    The 'Harmony Zealots' have spoken. :rolleyes:

    I do accept that a Harmony remote control may be better than a Kameleon, but then again its almost twice as much! You wouldn't expect a £250 Beko 28" widescreen TV to be as good as a £500 Sony one. I am very happy with my Kameleon as I no longer have to shuffle four controllers, however, I may purchase a Harmony in the future if I have £100+ to spare (and I can hide the receipt from my wife).

    Come on guys, Kameleons are good too - excellent customer service, easy to set up, great compatiability (correct me if I'm wrong, but Harmonys won't control IrDa NTL boxes, of which there are a lot).

    I'm sure the people out there with £500 Prontos think Harmony controls are pants. :clown:

    P.S. Stick to the UK Kameleons - a lot less hassle.
     
  6. Ikki

    Ikki
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,173
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Location:
    Lancs
    Ratings:
    +97
    We say as we find. :rolleyes:

    Don't take it to heart GreenBars

    p.s. you can control the NTL boxes by fitting a redeye control translator. This translates the standard remote IR signal from the Harmony etc to the IRDA style signal that the NLT box uses.

    Redeye
     
  7. GreenBars

    GreenBars
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    So speaks a Harmony zealot :D . At £35 for a red-eye, it makes a Harmony even more expensive! :p
     
  8. NinjaKi11a

    NinjaKi11a
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just bought a 1st Gen Kamaleon 4 in 1. *ducks* I did actually specefically want to get this remote as I thought it had a lay out most similar to a Sky+ remote. I've bought a few universal remotes before and taken them back, but at £25 (from Dixons) I thought this was worth the risk.

    I'm quite pleased with it. My DVD player had a code and the excellent technical support provided the extra code for one button I was missing. As the 4 in 1 doesn't have codes for CD players I had to teach it the commands which was easy, as was changing the layout of the VCR menu to that of a CD (DVD) remote. Sky+ programed in fine, though I agree that it's a pain having to press a button before you can get into the direction and PVR keys. I then managed to squeeze a combination of amplifier commands and the odd TV command that I need into the TV menu. Bearing in mind it learnt two menus and all separate volume controls, I'd say the Kameleon has just enough memory (previous remotes I've bought haven't).

    In conclusion (and I didn't intend to write a review :blush: ), the Kameleon has successfully replaced my previous five remotes, however it is a comprimise. You can't delete or change the characters and a couple of commands I've had to assign to odd keys, yet it is a lot better than some of the other remotes I've had and returned. There probably is a remote that would do everything I want but I just couldn't justify spending that amount of money.

    Try it and take it back if you don't like it. It worked for me. ;)
     
  9. Stinja

    Stinja
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    11,573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,333
    I've got the (i assusme) older Kameleon 6-in-1, the very rectangular one, is the new style one improved in any way? The main thing would be sensitivity and battery life, as im very happy otherwise - i've found the cat plays with it to make it glow, which isnt helping the battery life at all...

    Picture of new 6-in-1: http://www.firebox.com/pic/p530h.jpg
     
  10. GreenBars

    GreenBars
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    1. 8206 doesn't have a motion sensor.
    2. 8206 has hard buttons for volume+/-, channel+/- teletext, & menu.
    3. 8206 is supposed to have a longer battery life.
    4. 8206 is made of a shiny metal-coated plastic, which gets filthy really quickly, rather than aluminium.
    5. 8206 is not JP1 compatiable.
    6. 8206 has more buttons.
    7. 8206 has an easier to access battery compartment.

    Can't think of anything else.
     
  11. NinjaKi11a

    NinjaKi11a
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    'JP1 compatible.'

    What's that?

    Or am I being dumb?

    No need to answer that last question.
     
  12. GreenBars

    GreenBars
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    JP1 is a way of customising OneForAll remotes so that they are more versatile. See:

    www.hifi-remote.com
     
  13. Kaotician

    Kaotician
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
     
  14. GreenBars

    GreenBars
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    Assuming there hasn't been a new version of the 8206 put onto the market since I purchased mine then that is not true. There are two settings available for activating the screen:


    1. 'Keypress'
    2. 'Keypress' or 'Touching the screen and remote simultaneously'

    I assume that OneForAll removed the motion sensor from the second generation Kameleons due to the battery life issues.


     
  15. Stinja

    Stinja
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    11,573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,333
    Cheers. This one is unusual though, as it sure dosent seem like an improvement. I like the chunky solid feeling of my K 6-in-1. Maybe loads of users asked for it to be lighter...?
     
  16. GreenBars

    GreenBars
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    Good point. Guess I wasn't thinking when I typed it. Still, some people like dirty things - pigs in s**t an' all!

    :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...