Which is Best 32PW9618 or the 32PW9509.....

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by ruddocg, Oct 20, 2004.

1. ruddocg

ruddocg
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am a complete novice as to what makes a good television or not, but have bought as many TV Mags as I can find and have trawled the net.

I have a budget of £700-800 (well wife thinks its much less, but what she don't know won't hurt her!!) and have found the following that I quite like the look of - mainly on the reviews in the mag’s.

Philips 32PW9618 - very good reviews and most people in the AV Forum seem to have positive things to say about it. But from what I understand it is discontinued and was a '03 model and seems hard to get hold of. Have seen this on the Web for £730.

Philips 32PW9509 - again very good reviews, but maybe not as positive from what I can gather. But this is the newer '04 model as so I am think may be better (but what do I know) and have found on the web for a similar price.

I want a good picture over sound at the moment as I am thinking I'll get an Amp and Speaker system in the New Year.

Also I am having some (heated) discussions over the size of the screen - all the mags say go as big as you can, I am erring on the side of 32” whereas my wife seems a bit scared of the size and wants 28”. My seating distance from the screen is approx. 7 & 10 ft.

Any comments and/or advice on the above would be gratefully received.

2. Lyricman

Lyricman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +21
    The 9509 is the best picture I have seen on a TV. I just bought the 36" 9618 and it is awesome. Fantastic picture and sound. I assume the 32" will be equally as good.
    The 9509 just got TV of the year in What Hi-Fi Awards.

3. DT

DT

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm swaying towards the 9509 as well but should I be put off by lack of component?

4. mildred

mildred

Products Owned: