Which input for SqueezeBox on Denon 2307?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by voodooflux, Dec 19, 2006.

Tags:
  1. voodooflux

    voodooflux
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    267
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Redditch, UK
    Ratings:
    +12
    Extreme stoopid question alert:

    Just got my Denon 2307 home today, and while waiting for my Anthony Gallo's to arrive I've quickly connected up my trusty Mission 760i pair (bi-wired).

    I then went to connect up my SqueezeBox to the analog "aux" input, only to find that there is no obvious connection labelled as "aux" on the rear of the amp. I've tried a few of the analog inputs on there, but I can't hear anything unless I start to crank the volume on the amp up to worrying levels, and the audio quality just leads me to suspect that something is very, very wrong.

    The layout of the rear of the amp can be seen here:

    http://www.denon.de/site/datadir/dg/1_dg_av_AVR2307_back.jpg

    I've probably done something very stupid, so go on, put me out of my misery.
     
  2. clockworks

    clockworks
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Country
    Ratings:
    +297
    It shouldn't really matter which input you use, but the usual choice would be the Tape or CD inputs.

    You might get better quality by using a digital connection, but you'll have to assign the digital input to the Tape or CD input in the Denon's setup menu.

    Does the Squeezebox have it's own volume control? Maybe you need to turn that up a bit?
     
  3. voodooflux

    voodooflux
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    267
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Redditch, UK
    Ratings:
    +12
    Thanks, I thought that was probably true.

    I did think about doing that, but the SqueezeBox has pretty good Burr-Brown DACs so I wanted to give it a chance.

    Yep, and it was cranked up fairly high.

    I must be missing something obvious, I'm sure I'll end up kicking myself when I find it!
     
  4. clockworks

    clockworks
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Country
    Ratings:
    +297
    Are you just using a single pair of speakers, connected to the front left and right speaker sockets?

    If so, make sure that you have put the Denon into stereo or stereo direct mode. It's possible that the Denon is set to Prologic or a similar 5.1 mode, in which case much of the signal is being sent to the centre channel, which doesn't have a speaker connected. That would sound pretty awful.
     
  5. voodooflux

    voodooflux
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    267
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Redditch, UK
    Ratings:
    +12
    Aha, that sounds promising - I'll give it a go tonight. Thanks for that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...