Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Which HDD for XBox upgrade

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by stormjai, Jun 15, 2005.

  1. stormjai

    stormjai
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bromley
    Ratings:
    +3
    I want to upgrade a crystal XBox.

    Are there any "recommended" makes of HDD for XBox?

    Any particular ( "cheap but reliable" ) places to get these?

    thinking of 200-240GB drives!!

    Thanks for any suggestions. :thumbsup:

    Jai
     
  2. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    35,343
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +8,369
    I stuck a MAXTOR PLUS9 6Y120L0 120GB 7200RPM 2MB UDMA133 in mine and it works a treat - cost £43 back last October so you can probably get it cheaper now. I'm sure you can probably get the same make in 200gb + as well.
     
  3. michaelm

    michaelm
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    678
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +2
    Have a look at this list.

    Also, make sure your replacement drive is lockable. I replaced my original drive with Western Digital 80Gb model and have just upgraded that to a 160Gb Seagate. Both were lockable and have performed brilliantly.
     
  4. Goose74

    Goose74
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    827
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Romsey
    Ratings:
    +12
    sorry for my ignorance but what does lockable mean? (I noticed that option in EvoX)
     
  5. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    35,343
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +8,369
    It's just a security feature that prevents the user from viewing the contents of the original hard drive. Live checks to make sure that your drive is locked so if you go on live you must have it locked.
     
  6. michaelm

    michaelm
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    678
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +2
    And if you don't, you get banned. Just as if you have used Live before you upgrade your hard drive, you will get banned after you do the upgrade.
     
  7. Goose74

    Goose74
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    827
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Romsey
    Ratings:
    +12
    cheers guys that clears it up
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice