1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Graphics card to use with HCPC and Powerstrip?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Newboybee, Apr 1, 2003.

  1. Newboybee

    Newboybee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Am currently looking to source a graphics card to build my HCPC to use with a Sanyo Z1 projector.
    Any advice on which is best card to buy, i would want to use it with Powerstrip.
    Also where could i purchase said graphics card?

    best regards

    NBB
     
  2. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
  3. Newboybee

    Newboybee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers..games are not an issue at all.....any other opinions on this card......or any other suggestions?

    best regards NBB
     
  4. Underscore

    Underscore
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That card looks to have a fan (assuming the picture is of the correct card) I've bought the Sapphire 9000 (non-Pro) Atlantis that you can find on this page. Not hooked it up to the Z1 yet as the cable has only just arrived but it is passively cooled, has VGA, DVI and S-video out and seems to do the job. Of course, say that will ensure that I have all sorts of problems getting it working with the PJ...

    HTH,

    _
     
  5. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    Yeah the picture is just a generic one, AFAIK the card has no fan either.

    Either way a non-pro version of a radeon 9000 seems to be the consensus for high quality, quiet, cheap graphics card.

    Owain
     
  6. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hi,

    Would also recommend a Radeon 9000 - no fan, brilliant performance with dvd playback, takes custom resolutions no prob.


    All the best,

    Sean G.
     
  7. MrRails

    MrRails
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there

    Could someone give me some advice on how it handles games ? Although my main priority is tv/pvr can the 9000 handle games ok. I'd like to be able to use this machine as an ever so often games machine to play things like "Colin Mcrae 2" networked.

    Do you know what the equivalent GeForce is just so I can get an idea of comparison as I come from the Geforce world.

    Cheers for any advice

    MrR
     
  8. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,573
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,940
    Can someone clarify a question I have about these cards? I need to have 2 different resolutions on two different monitors. I need 1280 x 1024 on a TFT via the DVI or VGA and then 800 x 600 on a TV via the S-Video. I'm 99% sure this isn't a problem for these cards.

    But I don't just want video mirroring. Can the desktop be spread across the two screens or treat the two screens as separate monitors/desktops. I basically want to have control software (Cinemar Mainlobby) only showing on the TFT, whilst video playback software (ZP, Showshifter, etc) is only showing on the TV.
     
  9. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    I've got a 9000pro in my desktop (I'm sure the non-pro would be the same) and it handles what you require perfectly. I have a two-monitor setup (2x CRTs) one at 1280x1024 and the other at 1152x864, this is no problem. The desktop is spread across the two, not mirrored.

    Before I got my second monitor I had a TV connected via svid and this worked fine too.

    HTH
    Owain
     
  10. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,573
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,940
    Strange, I didn't get a notification email about your reply.
    Anyway, pretty much answers my questions. Cheers Owain.
     
  11. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi i want the excact opporsite to you i want it mirrored but have it
    spread accross 2 monitors 1 tft monitor and a plasma ?
    can you tell me how too mirrow it ?
    i`m using a radeon 9700 and windows xp
     
  12. feet14

    feet14
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Sapphire R9000 handles games well enough for most people - GTA3@1024*768*32 with no jerkiness and all the graphics settings at the max. Picture quality is great whatever the task. It should be faster than a Geforce4Mx though slower than a Ti.
     
  13. MrRails

    MrRails
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just the info I needed. Thanks for your input
     

Share This Page

Loading...