Which game pad do you use? Couch/Bed gaming on a PC.

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by 1iam5mith, Jul 8, 2015.

  1. 1iam5mith

    1iam5mith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    5,768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +812
    Do you use keyboard and mouse? Or a gamepad? What about when you want to chill in bed or on the couch and play?

    I plan on having my PC (when it arrives in parts tomorrow) plugged into a monitor at my desk, and a long hdmi to the other side of the room for playing on my TV while in bed, and also occasionally play via steam share in my lounge. So which input devices do you use?

    I am looking for a wireless setup, so if I can use my existing dual shock 4 etc... I also have a spare dual shock 3 I could use when downstairs ...
     
  2. Foster

    Foster
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    16,149
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    West Yorks
    Ratings:
    +7,341
    You'll have to do a lot of pissing about with the playstation controllers, just get a 360 pad and a wireless receiver and be done with it :)
     
  3. mufc4eva

    mufc4eva
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +222
    Don't want to hijack the thread at all but I have a question..

    I have my computer setup at my desk, connected to a 24" monitor but when playing games I would love to play my my 55" TV.

    Is there an easier way then having to keep swapping the cables over? (sure there is but having a blonde moment!)

    Cheers

    (And on subject, go with a 360 or XB1 pad.)
     
  4. Cha1ky

    Cha1ky
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    50,343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Internet
    Ratings:
    +25,289
    Have a read through the many pad threads on here already for advice.
     
  5. Nivek TT

    Nivek TT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +2,192
    @1iam5mith you'll find the Xbox 360 pad is by far the favourite. The Xbox One pad is currently wired only but should be wireless for Windows 10. The Steam gamepad may upset the status quo later in the year. I've always been curious about the Logitech F710. Wireless, looks to be up there with the Xbox 360 pad quality, offers XInput but is also programmable via software where as the Xbox 360 is not.

    Logitech F710 Wireless Gamepad: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

    @mufc4eva its quite likely your graphics card offers multiple monitor outputs. Simplest way is to probably connect your monitor to a DVI and your TV to an HDMI. If you really do only have a single HDMI output the a splitter may work for you, I use one to split my Youview box to two TVs.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Neet®-SPLITTER-Amplifier-Display-Shipping/dp/B001D9P1OW/
     
  6. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,236
    However linking would take a few seconds longer than typing that comment surely?
     
  7. Cha1ky

    Cha1ky
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    50,343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Internet
    Ratings:
    +25,289
    Not on the Tapatalk app it wouldn't!!!
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  8. Nivek TT

    Nivek TT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +2,192
  9. andiuk007

    andiuk007
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +4,868
    Wise move putting the PC in the bedroom OP, box of Kleenex next to the bed and your sorted ;)
     
  10. Presuming Ed

    Presuming Ed
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Umbrage
    Ratings:
    +923
    Is that in case the watercooling leaks?
     
  11. ThereIs0nly0ne

    ThereIs0nly0ne
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    313
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Ratings:
    +862
    You could use a splitter, as I have done in the past, but be aware that you might have odd results using different displays. I frequently had the incorrect, non-default resolution showing on startup which was a real pain.

    I solved this initially by plugging each display into its own port on the graphics card and writing a batch file (converted to an executable) to change the default screen output. I have since updated to DisplayFusion and now swap displays using the keyboard - this also allows you to change the sound output device at the same time. I actually use this to swap between 3 displays now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...