Which FreeView Twin Tuner??

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by wobbbs, Jan 28, 2005.

  1. wobbbs

    wobbbs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fairly new to this forum so appologies if this has been asked before.
    I am looking for a freeview twin tuner box but as far as I can make out the only one currently available is the Digifusion at £179.
    I went in to John Lewis and they told me that they should be getting a Panasonic in some time soon but couldn't say when.
    Does anybody know if the panasonic model is out yet and how much are they or are there any others that I can compare???

    Thanks in advance
    Colin
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    have a search for the PACE twin the first twin tuner FV PVR
     
  3. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,079
    Although I'd love to do so, I hesitate to recommend the Pace Twin. Unfortunately, although it is reasonably well featured, and DOES produce a good picture, the software remains riddled with bugs and Pace seem to have given up trying to fix them.

    I can't speak for the reliability of any of the others on offer.
     
  4. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    A new software version is imminent for the Pace Twin recorder. It was meant to be released just last week, but has been since been delayed. A new team is now working to resolve the outstanding issues. Hardly what I would call giving up. Pace have however pulled out of the freeview market and future availability of this unit must surely be questionable. It was being promoted direct by Pace a couple of months back at about £180 but I do not believe that this offer is available anymore.
     
  5. wobbbs

    wobbbs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had a quick look round and the PACE seems to have been discontinued. Looks like the Digifusion might be the only option.

    Thanks for your replies.
     
  6. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    I have a Pace Twin and I would not swap it for any of the others
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I have one too, and likewise, but I was told by eurosat the other day that they could no longer source them, and I'd have to specify Humax instead. Not keen on being told what to specify for my customers.
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    TIz a pity the 2 best featured Freeview boxes are now discontinued to be replaced with cheap nasty crap
    (twin and iPlayer).........I would own a twin but they are not available in black and as such have a Thomson DTI2300 and it is crap...... (but at least the front panel is blackish)
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    The netgem is not discontinued, just the cocked up the market placement. The BT thing was an awful mistake, they got well caned on it, both BT and in retrospect Netgem. Long and complicated story, they will be back sensibly when they can get a dealer to take them on after the last fiasco.
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    well if they slapp another tuner and an HHD in it they may well be onto a winner...
     
  11. bobby2

    bobby2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Gone
    Ratings:
    +6
    Have had the Pace Twin for 6 months now - with the usual software problems that have slowly disappeared over time. The lastest upgrade (Oct'ish) makes it very nice to use, with the occasional lockup - once a fortnight maybe.

    Ive stuck a 60 Gig disk in mine - 30 hours of recording. And it is truly a nice machine now.
     
  12. Spy

    Spy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    I believe that Thomson also do a twin tuner freeview recorder
     
  13. Tellyfiend

    Tellyfiend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
  14. Knightshade

    Knightshade
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +43
    The Thomson box seems to be pretty good, I've had one now for a few months and it seems very good. There was a big update around Christmas time and that sorted most of the problems and added some new features.
    All in all a pretty good buy.
     
  15. wobbbs

    wobbbs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What model is the Thompson one and any ideas how much they are or where to source one?
     
  16. Knightshade

    Knightshade
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +43
    It's the DHD4000 I got mine from Curry's price was £179.99
     
  17. Berwhale

    Berwhale
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got my DHD4000 for under £160 from here... http://www.qed-uk.com/q?i=124jVe2MywFk&vp=6&bg=276&bp=4000s&bi=0

    It stated a 14 day lead, but mine was delivered within 8 days of placing the order (and on a Saturday at no extra cost).

    The DHD4000 is a very good Freeview PVR, not quite as useable/intelligent as my TiVo, but you don't have to pay £10 a month for the priviledge and the PQ is better.

    The Seagate HD is a little noisey, I may move the ultra quiet 120GB Maxtor that is currently in the TiVo in to it.

    Loads more info on the unit here: http://dtt.opennet.co.uk/thomson.htm
     
  18. Tellyfiend

    Tellyfiend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Berwhale,

    Did it come with the latest software?
     

Share This Page

Loading...