Which freeview box?

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by JLamy, Mar 3, 2004.

1. JLamy

JLamy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi people.
    I am new to freeview so would like some advice. I live in Andover, Hampshire area, and would like to buy a freeview box just to see what this digital TV is all about as I have heard good things about it. I checked my post code on DTA checker and results show I am in good coverage area and should be able to recieve all channels. There will be two areas in my house that I would like to use Digital TV. Location one is in my living room. I have got a wall RF socket which I beleive is linked to an aerial in the loft when house was built 30-40 years ago. This socket can give me clear BBC1, BBC2, ITV1. Channel 4 and 5 are both fuzzy, with 5 being the worst. Location two will be in my bedroom upstairs using indoor aerial. With this indoor aerial I can get BBC1, BBC2, ITV1 OK-ish, CH4 iffy (depends on time of day and i would need to adjust location of aerial) and CH5 next to nothing at all.

My question is would I be able to receive OK digital signal even if I get semi weak analogue signals, specified as above. I am thinking about buying an amplified indoor aerial to replace loop aerial I'm using in bedroom now. Maybe one of those "All4one" branded, 43dB level ones from Currys, or something simular.

And next question is which freeview box to buy? Any recommendations on value for money boxes? Would like DAB Radio capability too but not essential. Would cheap £60 ones work as well as the £100 ones like Philips DTR1500? I only know of this one cos I spotted it in Tesco Extra, Portsmouth.

Thanks in advance.

2. trevor g

trevor g

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    panasonic ctu30 -and buy a decent scart

3. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,393