1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Freeview Box for my Plasma

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Darbyweb, May 16, 2003.

  1. Darbyweb

    Darbyweb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    There seems to be loads of models available, most around the 99 mark - which is going to be best to go with my Pioneer Plasma.



    Dean.
     
  2. SherrifJWPepper

    SherrifJWPepper
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im using a Panasonic TUCT20 Picture quality seems good when using RGB, cant find any discreet remote codes for it though :(
     
  3. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bearing in mind that a plasma screen will cost a tad more than £99, my advice is to get the Freeview box demonstrated with it. Any shop wanting to sell such expensive gear will be only to happy to show you how good it is.

    There are lots of Plasma screens which are incompatible with Sky and Freeview receivers so be sure to see it all working before you part with your cash.

    Fman
     
  4. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    Fernsehman

    Last time I was in Pinningtons in Nantwich they were running the Panasonic TUCT20 on a Panasonic plasma, it may have been the
    W5.
     
  5. encaser

    encaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex
    Ratings:
    +112

    That's rubbish.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Exactly how many plasma's are not compatible with composite or RGB signals???? And how many wont work with an RGB>VGA converter box?????
    F man i beleive you are very knowledgeable in your opinions but this time i think you are wrong and should either back that up or withdraw it!

    Nokia 221t has beeen given a big thumbs up by most as have the Panasonic and Pace boxes, the DTVA has been around the longest and the bugs have mainly been fixed. The odd scart connector could cause trouble with some plasmas, but only those without scart connections or scart in their tuner box.
     
  7. Darbyweb

    Darbyweb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok i know which ones to look at - do they all have 2 scarts ??

    I want to cascade through the Freeview box.



    Dean.
     
  8. SherrifJWPepper

    SherrifJWPepper
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Panasonic has only 1 scart
     
  9. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    I'm using a Sony 32TS2 with RGB scart sockets. I'd reccomend the Netgem Iplayer with the latest firmware (which will be released next week), you can read my comments about various boxes here:

    http://forum.digitalspy.co.uk/board/showthread.php?s=&threadid=59615&highlight=pros

    Best (in order)

    1. Netgem Iplayer
    2. Nokia 221T
    3. Pace DTVA (if you can live without the extra connectors)

    Don't get the Panasonic, it has terrible sound quality when you hook it up either with the built in RCA sockets or by taking the sound from the scart.
     
  10. Darbyweb

    Darbyweb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks - Netgem IPlayer it will be - reading your review, it sounds like its got lots of gadgets :)


    Dean.
     
  11. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    I just found out that the netgem has component output via scart as well as RGB, S-Video and Composite!
     
  12. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    My two Panasonic TU-CT20s sound fine :)
     
  13. encaser

    encaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex
    Ratings:
    +112

    Have you tried this - component?
     
  14. Wayne Moule

    Wayne Moule
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    1,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +32
    I would recommend my smart looking Grundig GDT2000 with 2 scarts and RGB.
     
  15. phil_evans

    phil_evans
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Singapore
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cybersoga,

    Very interested in your comment about YUV output from the Netgem - could you expand on this/ post a link? What kind of cable would you need?

    I'm using an RGB->YUV converter on my Nokia mediamaster and am only fairly satisfied with the conversion due to a technical incompatibility (the Nokia has too high an output level which messes up the reds a bit after conversion).

    A native YUV freeview box would be fantastic!

    Cheers,
    Phil
     
  16. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    In the setup screen, the options are RGB + Video, S-Video, Composite Video and YPbPr Component. All signals come out of the scart socket, i'm not entirely sure what cable would be needed to use the component output, i'm guessing a scart to 3 RCA wired to the red green and blue pins on the scart socket (normally used for RGB).
     
  17. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    From Netgem:-

    as you probably know, most of Plasma screen use YPbPr output: that is why we added it as an output option.
    But, we are not in contact with any component manufacturer and do not sell such a component cable.
    On the http://www.keene.co.uk website, you can find Scart to Component (3 BNC or 3 RCA) cables with the following PinOut:
    Y on Pin 11
    Cb on Pin 7
    Cr on Pin 15
    and Widescreen signalling on Y: normally Yes.
     
  18. phil_evans

    phil_evans
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Singapore
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for following this up Cybersoga. Assuming the output has sync on Y, the Keene cable KLD160 (2m) @ £15 looks like the one.

    Are you planning to try this yourself? I'm very tempted to get an iPlayer and cable but it would be great to know if it works first.

    Do Netgem have any plans to launch new models in the near future (e.g. any twin tuner HD recorders)?
     
  19. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    *edit* i've just purchased the £14.99 one, i'll let you know if it works.

    I dont know what netgem are doing regarding new models but it may be possible to record and playback files from a USB hard disk with the current model some time in the future.
     
  20. phil_evans

    phil_evans
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Singapore
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're a star cybersoga! I'm on holiday for just over a week from tomorrow so will look forward to your test results. If it works OK and you don't decide to keep the cable, I'm sure you'll find a buyer or 2 on these forums.:D

    Cheers
    Phil
     

Share This Page

Loading...