1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which First DVD Recorder is best ????

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ledders, Aug 23, 2004.

1. ledders

ledders

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    I am a newbie to forum and want to buy my first dvd recorder , I have a Sony DAV-S500 connected to my Sony tv, I also have Sony Sky digibox,I have done some research and panasonic E55/E65 and Sony GX3 get good reports, but I read a report on Philips R80 which appealed to me especially the guide plus function, I would appreciate any comments/suggestions, but my question regards Philips R80 is : philips recorder is +R would I be able to play recorded DVDs on or through my Sony DAV-S500 which is mutiregioned but I believe is -R format???

Regards John

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,203
    First things first I would strongly suggest you stay away from Philips DVD Recorders. Reliability issues aside (and there are significant reliability issues with the Philips range as a whole and the DVDR80 - a recent What Video magazine had a special Tech Help on this recorder alone!) there is also the fact that the machines lack the core DVD Recorder features seen in virtually every other major brand DVD recorder. DVD+R disks will probably play on your Sony DAV-S500.

The Panasonic E55 is arguably the best specified budget DVD recorder at the moment. It offers progressive scan, component output, timeslip, chasing playback, editting, playlists etc for a little over £200. Highly recommended. Note though that DVD-RAM (the re-writeable media it uses) will not play on your Sony DAV-S500. The machine also writes to DVD-R which WILL play on your Sony though.