1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which fanless Radeon9600 for HTPC & from where?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Mark Ward, Jul 2, 2004.

  1. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Trying to solve some performance issues with my HTPC and suspect my Radeon 9500 may be the culprit.

    I want to buy a Fanless 9600 for my HTPC but there seem to be so many differening opinions as to the benchmark performance etc. of these.

    In addition, looking at eBuyer.com it's really hard to be 100% sure that any specific model is truly fanless.

    So... Which Fanless Radeon9600 should I go for? A specific model no. would be a BIG help. It's totally for HTPC (HiDef & DVD) with no gaming use at all.

    Thanks,

    Mark.
     
  2. wyerd

    wyerd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    758
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Upstate New York. USA
    Ratings:
    +27
  3. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    IMHO, benchmark differences for any specific chip are irrelvant and of interest only to the willy-wavers :) .. any 9600 non-Pro is more than enough for and HTPC, I use a Sapphire version but I defy anyone to show that some other brand is superior in any practical sense, or conversely the Sapphire or some other brand is underpowered for this type of application.

    FYI, this is the one I have, if you follow the Sapphire link you'll see a small photo of the card clearly showing the heatsink it has.

    The 'Pro' variants usually come with fans, as do XTs, the non-Pros are never seen with fans AFAIK. The XT wyerd links to doesn't but incorporates a Zalman cooler, adding greatly to the price .. IMO an HTPC doesn't need the extra power of the XT.

    HTH.
     
  4. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Thanks for the replies....

    @Wyerd
    I'm really hoping not to pay that much. I'm not totally sure my current card is tha cause.

    @KraGorn
    If that is that Fanless it looks much more like it if so.

    Anyone else any suggestions?

    Mark.
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Yes, click the Sapphire link I posted (it's from the other page I linked to), in the upper-right hand corner there's a picture of the card ,the white rectangle with red markings is the heatsink .. looks exactly like mine, 100% fanless. :D

    If in any doubt, e-mail Overclock (the first of my links) to confirm, but I bought based on their web page.


    Comapring the 9600 to the 9500, my understanding is that the 9600 and later cards have an improved mpeg decoder, giving better quality than the 9500 and earlier .. though by how much I couldn't say .. if you look round here and at purpose-built HTPCs you'll see a non-pro 9600 is the ATI card of choice for HTPCs, more than enough power at a sensible price .. I'm not an nVidia fan so wouldn't know if they have anything comparable, my belief is they don't, in any case TheaterTek has ATI-specific optimisations, there must be a reason for that. ;)
     
  6. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    also the 3DConnect 9600 Pro is definitely fanless, I have one in my HTPC.

    Seen these on overclockers recently for <£75....
     
  7. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Mines the Saphire 9600 non pro that KraGorn has.
     
  8. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Interesting, I think this is the first Pro version I've seen named that's fanless, though I've seen mention of them which is why I said 'usually'.
     
  9. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    there's one other brand which do a fanless 9600pro too, but i can't for the life of me remember who it is.

    I went for the 3Dconnect as it was a few quid cheaper..

    seems to stay cool as well, i often run for upto 10 hours at a time ( work related, honest ) and never had a problem yet..
     
  10. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    I've ordered the same one too, thanks! :)

    Mark.
     
  11. stevieboyyyy

    stevieboyyyy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +6
    Creative's is fanless (well, at least according to the picture on the website).

    I'll know for sure Saturday/Monday as have got one winging it's way to me.
     
  12. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I too am looking at the 9600 now.
    Overclock do the Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9600 128mb DVI Retail for £76.87 including VAT and delivery: http://www.overclock.co.uk/customer/product.php?productid=16847&cat=416&page=1
    Savastore do the 3D Connect Radeon 9600 128MB DDR + DVI + TV for £66.33 including VAT and delivery: http://www.savastore.com/products/p...me=Savastore&product_id=10267618&pid=45&tid=2

    Is there any difference between the 2?
    Is the Sapphire a better product or shall I just go for the cheapest?

    EDIT: Savastore do the Sapphire 9600 256MB for £76.08 (delivered) which is cheaper than the 128MB from Overclock.
     
  13. stevieboyyyy

    stevieboyyyy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +6
  14. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Hmmmmm, I'm not a fan of Creative products.
    I've had nothing but trouble with my Creative sound card and it took me many hours of installing/removing/reinstalling both the hardware and drivers to get it to work.
    Think I'll avoid that one...
     
  15. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    personally I'd say any 9600 will be good enough for HTPC use, so just get the cheapest fanless 9600 you can find...

    not sure if the extra memory on the sapphire would make any difference unless you're gaming??
     
  16. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Presumably that doesn't include the 9600SE though which is only 64 bit?
     
  17. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    if that's the case I'd certainly avoid it.. a 9500 pro would be faster i think.

    the 3D connect Pro is certainly up to the job, i'd happily buy another if I was building another system..
     
  18. stevieboyyyy

    stevieboyyyy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +6
    Can confirm the Creative 256MB Radeon 9600 I purchased is fanless.
     
  19. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Received my Sapphire 9600 128MB today.
    Fanless.
    Now I can finally use my DVI port and I can run at 32 bit colour....which is nice.

    Oh, and it was only £50 brand new...:D
     
  20. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,758
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
    Where did you get it from Brogan?

    Adrenochrome.
     
  21. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    eBay of all places.
    Just happened to be looking at the right time and a chap was selling one still sealed in the original box.
    It's obvious it has never been used as the static bag was still sealed and the contact pins are unmarked.
    The cheapest I've seen them 'for sale' is about £69 delivered.
     
  22. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,758
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
    Sheesh i guess some people are just born lucky :)

    Adrenochrome.
     
  23. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    :D

    Makes up for the £80 we lost on the Greece - Protugal final...
     

Share This Page

Loading...