which dvd upscale and surround system should i get?

laffmeister

Standard Member
Hi. I'm a bit of a novice in this area. A bit of advice would be great.

I want to upgrade my home cinema/surround system. I've got an entry level lg system at the mo. I've got a hd ready telly too.

I'll prob get a dvd system that upscales to hdmi. will i need a seperate amp for the surround. Are there dvd/amps combinations that upscale that i can get?

I'm happy to just get the units at the mo and upgrade the speakers later. If it does all came as a package I would prefer tall boy speakers.

Also I want to plug my xbox 360 into it to get that through the surround which i think means that it has to have an optical input.

I'll prob look to spend up to £500.

Any ideas? thanks

mikim

Hi there,

There are loads of combinations, and some might obviously suit you better than others :)

I would definitely buy second hand stuff as there is a wealth of good equipment out there at normal prices. Just take a look on the classifieds here on AVF!!

DVD - Denon DVD-1920 outputs HDMI, has all the connections that you might possibly want, has faroujda progressive scan, pic is pretty good too..(upscales, but you will probably find that your TV will do a better job of scaling any picture unless you buy a high end DVD player).

This should cost about £80

Amp - Denon AVR-1806 surround receiver

5.1 or 7.1, has all the inputs that you could need (apart from HDMI.. you will struggle to get this at this price range).

Cost about £140

Speakers - Kef eggs 2005 5.1, great sound, popular choice of small surround speaker for the money.

Cost about £200-300

So this should set you up with a decent little system for about £500. This way you can upgrade the bits from time to time when you have more ££ available.