Which DVD player now???

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ellisbailey, Sep 19, 2003.

  1. ellisbailey

    ellisbailey
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    The time has finally come for me to upgrade my old (4yrs) sony dvd player for a new one.

    The main features it must have are an ability to play - MP3, CDR, CDRW, DVD-R, DVD-RW etc as I have come unstuck a few times when the kids have broken a DVD.

    I therefore want to make some backup copies of DVD`s that I own to prevent me having to purchase them again.

    Up to £200. No need for decoders as I have an external amp. Ideally SONY as I had this before and it worked great.

    Obviously multi region + RCE.

    Many thanks in advance for any advice.
     
  2. kennydies

    kennydies
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    I just bought .this

    Plays all formats including DVD-A and SACD. All for £219 delivered
     
  3. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,112
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,367
    You can get a Toshiba 330 at amazon for £79.99 that playes all regions. I got one just over a week ago and was impressed with it over my 3 years old machine I’m going to get a new one.
    I was considering this one and a Pioneer 360 see here

    Also I may just up it a bit and get an all-round player Pioneer 565? that is around £199.99 that will play SACD and DVD-Audio.
     
  4. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,112
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,367
    I’m extremely interested in this. Is this a UK version(not a grey import), do you have to alter anything each time you change regions, do you have to pay postage, what’s delivery time from ordering like after ordering.
     
  5. NinjaKi11a

    NinjaKi11a
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think Richer Sounds have just cut the price of their multi-region Pioneer 565A to £199.99. Looks like a bargain to me: think I'll be getting mine next week.
     
  6. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,112
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,367
    Do they do it in Black?
     
  7. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes they do.

    The multi-region update is (I think) a Hardware modification as opposed to a Firmware/Hack, so it's extremely unlikely you'll be forever fiddling with Regions.

    The black model is denoted as the DV565Ak I believe. Richer Sounds have it advertised (as already stated) for under £200 for the Multi-Region model.

    Hope this helps :)
     
  8. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,112
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,367
    How can it play RCE disc if you do not need to enter the regions?

    Just found the page with the 565 DVD at Richer Sounds but I cannot see any just the silver! If it is there can you post a link please.
     
  9. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm guessing the region coding is set to '0' after all the hardware modifications & it just happens to play RCE discs post-modification hence no fiddling is required(???).

    It (the black model of the 565) isn't advertised on Richer's website, you'd have to go into store for the black model, but it's definitely available (see the URL link below for confirmation of this :))

    http://www.pioneer.co.uk/uk/product_detail.jsp?product_id=4748&taxonomy_id=62-84

    Alternatively if you can't be bothered with visiting a richer sounds store, the same player in black is available in Multi-Region form from Techtronics in the URL link below:

    http://www.techtronics.com

    Hope this helps :)
     
  10. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,112
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,367
    I gave them a ring and they did not have any in stock, they said they were receiving some stock early next week. I will hang on to see if they get them in if not I may order one on the net.
     
  11. Bapapapa

    Bapapapa
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,112
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,367
    Rang two Richer Sounds and they have no Black in stock I may have to get one of the net as a few site seem to have the Black in stock.
     
  13. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,112
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,367
    Apologies ellisbailey I seem to have diverted your thread.
     
  14. NinjaKi11a

    NinjaKi11a
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Garret, phone the Richer Sounds stock line - it's an 0870 number if I recall. They will check their entire stock and send one to your local branch if necessary.
     

Share This Page

Loading...