• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Which Dreambox for Sky?

Webagents

Established Member
Hi,

I am totally new to the concept of Dreamboxes but as I understand it correctly I can configure a dreambox to work with my Sky card, is that correct?

My intention is to take the Sky card from home when I am away in my motorhome and use it for a couple of days at a time in the motorhome.

Ideally I would like a Dreambox that will record programs and pause Live TV, a bit like a Tivo or Sky+

Which models should I be looking at and how do I make it work with my Sky card?

I have also heard that doing this may be illegal and if it is I apologise for my post. My take on this would be that I could take my card and use it in a different digibox, calling Sky to re-marry the card each time. As long as the Sky card is only used in one location then this should be okay, shouldn't it?

rcaudwell

Prominent Member
The short answer to your question is yes, you can use dreamboxes (or any linux box for that matter) to watch sky with an official card, any model of dreambox will do it, and so long as you get one with a HDD you can record programs. However, it takes a bit of setting up initially (and a lot of reading up if your new to linux stb`s).
You will struggle to get anything like the functionality of Sky+ or Tivo, mainly because they have the customised and specific epg etc, whereas linux/dream boxes don`t.
It`s not illegal to use an official viewing card to watch sky in any stb AFAIK, although only some of the emu`s needed in the dreambox will update the card for the monthly update.