Which CRT for £5k?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by laserguy1138, Jun 4, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. laserguy1138

laserguy1138

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    I am looking at buying a projector and have up to £5k to spend, I have looked at a couple of DLP ones and didn't get on with them (rainbows) and pixel death on LCD models puts me off these. Which models are in my budget and is it best to buy new or a recon? I figure I should get more for my pound recon but what are the caveats? I am new to this so be gentle. ;)

Guy

2. garmtz

garmtz
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I would buy a second hand/demo/refurbished CRT, like a BarcoData/Graphics 801.

Be wary of tube wear and burn-in. It's best to look into the lenzes onto the CRT face and look for burnt-in logos or discoloration. It's even better to look for this with the lenzes removed. Find a seller or shop that knows what they are talking about.

Do keep in mind that CRT projectors are heavy bulky beast and take some time to get them perfectly aligned/focussed/converged.

3. nfordenfield

nfordenfield
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can buy my BG801s for £5k, i'll even throw in my QS Pro and DVD player!?!

Seriously, go for a 801 or even the 808 series, still enough left over for the New scaler from FE - CS1.

Regards

Nathan

4. Roland @ B4

Roland @ B4

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +32
    I was kind of hoping some others would jump in first here. But here goes

First off, I have a commercial interest in this area as I buy, sell and refurbish new and used CRT projectors