1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which component switch box?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by movie_fan, Feb 11, 2005.

  1. movie_fan

    movie_fan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi! I've been looking at this: http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/comp-vid-sw.html

    The Manual Component Switchbox got me quite interested in. Does anybody know if this is suitable to connect my Pioneer 575A dvd player and my playstation2 without loosing PQ?

    Thanks! :)
     
  2. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    Harryo on these forums recently imported an Audio Authority 1154A via an ebay seller, look up his posts as it might be possible to get one for around a hundred quid.

    Mike.
     
  3. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Harryo's total cost came to £157 or so after import duties/vat/and postal service charges :-(

    There is also the zektor HDS4 units (http://www.zektor.com/hds4/index.htm) available in the UK, a bit dearer, but support would probably be easier - IIRC Joe @ TMFSolutions sells them (member of the forums)

    am in a similar situation myself in that running out of component connections on AV Amp.

    regards

    Gary
     
  4. movie_fan

    movie_fan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Well, I'm wheighting the pros and cons of each one (the biggest con being the price!!), the Zektor looks good but it's a a bit pricier than the Audio Authority...
     
  5. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    The Zektor is supberb.
    You can input component, optical, coaxial and analogue audio. you can then go back out with component, optical or coaxial (it converts one to the other) and analogue to your amp.
    You can then teach it to switch with any remote key, so you put it into learning mode and when the led flashes for input 1 you press the key on your remote you want to use to switch it to that input, so for example if you have your dvd on input one you press DVD on your remote.
    The Zektor becomes a seemless part of your system that once installed you forget about.
    It will also convert optical to coaxial etc.

    The HDS4.2 also has a second output that is buffered so you can run it to a projector or second display. I actually used this to have one going to a scaler and one to the bypass on the scaler.
     
  6. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    Harryo paid extra for fast shipping and a 12V PSU (presumably heavy). Without each the total should be much nearer £120 and possibly less.

    Mike.
     
  7. movie_fan

    movie_fan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Well, I'll give it a go in a near future. I'll just wait for what Harryo has to say about it
     
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    movie fan

    I'm biased - of course! Here's a quick comparator chart that may be of interest.

    See http://www.zektor.com/support/competitive_analysis.htm

    Gizlaroc is spot-on re the Zektor becoming a seamless component in your set-up - its amazing at simply disappearing; it never faults or flickers and the switching is nice and clean; the soft click of the relays is always reassuring.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  9. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    The 1154a reportedly translates optical/coaxial too. If it could be on a powerbuy for under a ton it would be sweet :)

    Mike.
     
  10. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    Mike

    Audio Authority kit is NOT (the last time I asked them) CE approved - UK retailers shouldn't therefore be selling them; Power Buy or not.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  11. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    AFAIK, no UK sellers are.

    Mike.
     
  12. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    Another :thumbsup: for the Zektor here. I thought it was a little pricey, but it's worth the extra. I've since bought an AVR300, that itself can switch three component sources, but I've not even considered selling on the Zektor.
     
  13. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    Hello Mike

    Oh I've seen a couple advertising them :devil:

    Joe

    PS Zektor kit in the UK is supplied with a UK/Euro factory sourced and tested PSU.
     
  14. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    I am thinking of selling my Silver HDS4.2 (the one with a second output) and replacing it with a Black unit, how much are the black HDS4 units Joe? as I no longer need a second output now I am projectorless :(
     
  15. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i would be very interested in the your silver hds4.2 gizlaroc - depending on price , but i'd like first refusal :) sorry, forgot to add Please (what an ignorant sod :blush: )

    cheers
    Gary
     
  16. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    Ok

    I will see how much a single ouput device is, to be honest I was sort of hoping to get close to the HDS4 price so it may not be benificial for you to have mine as you are only using one display anyway.
    Unless you have or are thinking of adding a projector?
     
  17. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    that would be the idea (if SWMBO agrees :lease: :lease: ) :laugh:

    How old is your unit?

    cheers
    Gary
     
  18. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    Haha

    yeah, when I got mine and my wife asked me "what does that do for £400?"
    and my reply was "well it means I dont have to plug/unplug my consoles when I want to play them"
    That went down well!!

    Having said that now I have it she thinks its wonderful, as we dont even change channel on the tv anymore, one press of the processor remote and that it is.

    I bought it last spring.
     
  19. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    gizlaroc

    You have a PM.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  20. movie_fan

    movie_fan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Joe

    you have a PM

    Best regards
     
  21. movie_fan

    movie_fan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    One more thing: can these component switches introduce any lip sync problems?
     
  22. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    Hello movie_fan

    The Zektor HDS4 and HDS4.2 are both passive on output 01 and the HDS4.2 is driven on output 02
    - there is no delay added to the video signals as it passes through either unit.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  23. movie_fan

    movie_fan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Well, that sure is good news!! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...