Which CAT5 cable?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Grumpy Boy, Jan 24, 2008.

  1. Grumpy Boy

    Grumpy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Llanelli
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi,

    I was looking to change my CAT5 cable I use to connect my 360. The one I am using I "borrowed" it from work. It was in bad condition when I got it and it has slowly fallen apart.

    I had a quick look at some cabling web sites and there are quite a few different types CAT5, CAT5e (which I believe is the newer version). I have also seen CAT6 which seems to have superseded CAT5 and is backward compatible but with higher specification regarding signal to noise etc.

    Then there is the crossover and straight wired.

    Basically, I need a cable about 5m long and would like to get a good quality cable so I can minimise and data loss/degredation. Is it better to go sheilded?. It might be over kill but I would rather spend £1 more (the cables are dirt cheap - even the high performance Belkin ones), and get a cable the is way to good for the job than get one that is working to its upper limits.

    Just realised I didn't post in the Hardware section - sorry. can the mods move it?.
     
  2. hooj

    hooj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Standard straight through Cat5e will be fine.

    No need for shielding, unless its next to a source of interference.
     
  3. daveon

    daveon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,635
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +126
    Personally I would say that for normal home use, i.e. connecting your 360 to a router you don't need anything over and above bog standard CAT5 Ethernet cable.

    For your reference a cross over cable allow you to connect two devices (xbox 360s in this case) to each other without the need for any additional networking devices such as router, switch or a hub.
     
  4. Just Me

    Just Me
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bromley, Kent
    Ratings:
    +4
  5. Grumpy Boy

    Grumpy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Llanelli
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks for the speedy replies.

    So a standard straight cable (I won't be networking 360's together) should do. The cable will be running behind my 37" plasma then across the floor to the router (I only connect it up when I go online & kids are in bed). Will the Screen/near by Sky+, Wii, DVD recorder kit cause enough interference to require sheilding. Like I said, there does only seem to be a few pounds between the cheapest old undbranded CAT5 and the top price branded sheilded CAT5e.
     
  6. smallclanger

    smallclanger
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +463
    I've not tried it but I've read in many places that you dont need cross over cables or extra equipment just to connect 2 xboxes as the network adapter is auto sensing.
     
  7. Grumpy Boy

    Grumpy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Llanelli
    Ratings:
    +10
  8. doublej

    doublej
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    ....mate, it won't make a blind bit of difference what cable you use. I will buy the 5m cat v cable of you're choice if you find any difference whatsover.


    Think about it............................................think about the journey taken by the data from your xbox, .......to the telephone exchange (3km on a single strand of copper - strung across the street using old wooden poles (unless your fibre cable)).....then to xbox live servers......
    ....steal another from work and sleep well at night, know the laws of physics are on your side.
     
  9. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    14,562
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +6,665
    Seriously, just grab some bog standard cat5 and whack it in. If it doesn't work, I'll personally pop to your house and give you a free chocolate bar :D
     
  10. RBJTech

    RBJTech
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Kent, England
    Ratings:
    +101
    Correct - the ports on the back of the 360 are auto MDI-X ports which basically means it will internally switch the wires over until it gets a link connection - so no need to buy a 'special' X-over cable. Also works the other way - ie you used a X-over cable when you should have used a straight through ...

    Either way - it'll work.. :)

    PS - for info - most modern switches have auto MDI-X ports on them as well - they will all negiotate with the end device and give you a connection even if you don't have the 'proper' cable.
     
  11. Switch625

    Switch625
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +183
    I've used Cable Universe a few times with no problems (I'm not advertising them, I swear!)

    www.cableuniverse.co.uk
     
  12. RandomLee

    RandomLee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    9,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Just check my IP address
    Ratings:
    +2,948
    I used them a few times with no probs at all. Good service :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...