• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Which camcorder will record in a 90s quality?

BubbRubb

Standard Member
Hello,

I'm looking for a camcorder that records in a certain quality. To cut the story short, I want to make short films and I want the quality and feel of the images to resemble those of a 1990's film.

Here's two scenes of very famous movies that capture the quality and atmosphere I'm talking about:

Reservoir Dogs

Pulp Fiction

Now I know both movies must have been recorded with expensive, professional cameras. But as I'm a broke student, I'm looking for a cheap alternative that will record in a similar style/atmosphere/quality.

Thanks a lot for reading this, if you have any suggestions please let me know.

12harry

Distinguished Member
Welcome.

You will need a modern multi-core (quad) computer to do the Editing, so let's assume that's out of the Video-
budget.
And almost any decent camcorder or DSLR will take the films - you adjust the quality in "Post" using filters in the Edit, although you can muck-up (slightly) the quality when shooting..... the really BIG iten is the quality of the acting . . . very difficult to get Budget actors to make it look real.
Audio is another topic . . . and again you can spend a lot on microphones, booms, etc.
In reality, your camcorder needs manual control of focus and exposure; but other than that almost anything will do . . . . such quality will set you back about £500 starting price. If you want to plug-in pro audio microphones ( using XLR's) then look at £1500 . . . this may not be what most student- folks want to hear . . .

If you are "starting-out" and just want this as a hobby, then any camcorder is better than none. But you have to tailor yr films to the gear you can afford, to avoid disaster.