Which camcorder - Which editing software

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by the passenger, Feb 10, 2009.

1. the passenger

the passenger
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dear all

i'm new to making films but have recently helped produce a corporate film. The professional filmaker used a Sony Z1 camcorder and i edited his footage using Nero editing software (after i'd worked out the firewire capture using an old mini-dv camcorder to get the tapes on the PC) the Nero software i found very limited regarding the sound edit - esp. the editing of music we put over the film.
    Can any members advise me on a good, lighweight semi/professional camcorder (3CCD) with a good battery and mic for around the £2.5k mark?
    Also any advice on some good professioanl editing software for around £600 and a good tripod/softbox lights and a boom mic would be welcome.
    Basically any info/advice on a whole set up of kit for producing professional looking short films would be very gratefully received.

Many Thanks :thumbsup:

2. chrishull3

chrishull3

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +282
    Sony HDR-FX1000E Mini DV Camcorder from Bentonville Mall
    a very good prosumer come semi pro camcorder.

i only use pinnacle 12.5 ultimate it will do most things but can be temermental.There are many pro editing software including sony vegas pro 8.check google for more options.

Last edited: Feb 10, 2009
  3. JimNastics

JimNastics

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +28
    I'm in a similar position to you passenger, looking for a £2.5k camcorder for corporate and educational videos. I will also throw the Canon XH-A1 into the mix. Canon XH-A1 vs Sony FX1000 seems to be the big battle in the industry at the moment! I don't know which one to go for... there are strong supporters on both sides.

4. chrishull3

chrishull3

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: