1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

which camcorder - panasonic mx300 or canon dm xm1

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by rosiemoar, Jan 27, 2002.

1. rosiemoar

rosiemoar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,
    i've been looking into buying a 3ccd dv out/in digital video camera. I'm an artist and
    want to use it in a variety of ways - hand held, on a tripod, interior/exterior,
    sound quality important. for documentation and artwork.I also want as
    good a projected image as possible.
    I've briefly checked out the panasonic mx300 and canon dm xm1 in a
    camcorder centre, and am struggling to make a decision.
    Any advice?
    The picture and sound on the panasonic seemed just a bit punchier.
    also it has the stills card and analogue input.
    The canon footage had more of a 'film' feel to it though - which i like-
    because of the optical stabilisation and the fluorite lens??
    cheers
    rosie

2. goldenfleece

goldenfleece

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go for the MX300 if I were you. Just bought one and it is an absolutely stunning machine. Forget the film look at the intial stage of shooting, this can all be done at the editing stage more effectively anyway. I've seen output from the MX300 projected on a 3 lens system to a 12ft wide screen, and I tell you this, its stunningly good in every detail. Bigger than that and it may start to look more digital but this machine is a great kit. Buy it online and you will save hundreds of pounds as well, its currently going for less than £1,300 on a number of sites.

3. rosiemoar

rosiemoar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    golden fleece,
    thanks v.much for your reply. my hunch was for the mx300, too. it's useful to
    hear from someone who'susing the camera.