Which cable from Sky+ to onkyo 606 please?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Paddy!, Jan 31, 2009.

Tags:
  1. Paddy!

Paddy!

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +48
    [Apologies if this has been asked a billion times but I tried the forum search with no luck!]

I need to connect the Sky+ box [no HD so no HDMI :thumbsdow] up to the 606 and thought a scart to S-Video would be best like this one from superfi:

QED P2710 PERFORMANCE SQART S-VIDEO > SCART > 2 PHONO PLUGS - available from Superfi UK Visit http://www.superfi.co.uk/index.cfm/page/moreinfo.cfm/product_id/1729 for details

But looking at the back of the onkyo there's a connector between the red and white phonos and the yellow video? Being a newbie I have no idea what it is?? You can see it in the expanded picture of the connections on the onkyo website:

http://www.eu.onkyo.com/ir_img/18492326_33787adf11.jpg

Does this mean there's an alternative/better connection or am I missing something??

Is there a better alternative to the lead in the link? Seems expensive for an old scart lead but I don't want to scrimp if it'll make even the smallest difference!??

Many thanks in advance!

2. Paddy!

Paddy!

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +48
    To help get a quicker answer:

[​IMG]

Cheers :clap:

3. Uridium

Uridium

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    Picture will be worse connected to 606 with S-Video (many have tried and found this out at cost)

As nice as i know it would be to have it running through the 606 your best bet for optimum picture is RGB scart from Sky+ to RGB enabled scart on TV (making sure RGB is enabled in sky menu)

then just connect optical out from Sky+ to 606 for DD 5.1 sound (also enabling this in sky menu)

If you want to run Sky video through the 606 upgrade to SkyHD (just been reduced to £49!) as this has HDMI (although you will find that for SD channels picture is no better then Sky+ RGB)