Which budget receiver has the best sound and the best digital signal processing options?

Hi, a total newbie in HT systems here. I'm going to buy and setup my first ever surround sound system (most likely 5.1, but I might try a minimal Atmos configuration later), and I can't find much info on receiver features specifically relating to sound fidelity. As for video features, all I want is 4K 60 Hz support, preferably with HDR, but even that is optional because I'm going to use my TV for content playback and plug its HDMI audio return output into the AV receiver (will that work as expected?).
What I'm truly interested in is the user-configurable DSP capabilities (e. g. digital EQ) and automatic room correction, as well as decent enough amplifiers (in terms of fidelity, not power - my room is not large). I'm also very interested in playing stereo material in 5.1 mode, good support for that is a must.

What receivers would you recommend for me?

Last edited:

Rambles

Distinguished Member
Entry level decent configurable room correction would be Audyssey, with the app which is available with Denon and Marantz AVR's. Better is Dirac which is available with Nad and Arcam AVR's, probably the Nad T758v3 is the entry level for a Dirac AVR:

Joe Fernand

Distinguished Member
AVForums Sponsor
ARC relies on CEC so can work very well but also be a pain with some combinations of kit - it can also be limited in what formats it will support from onboard streaming services and external devices connected to your TV.

If you were purchasing the TV and AVR New and wanted to use the TV as a 'Source' I would look for products which support eARC rather than ARC.

You may find it more realistic to use an external streamer connected via HDMI to your proposed AVR for streaming services.

System - do not try and over stretch your budget to gain extra features or channels and keep in mind that the room, room layout and speaker to room interaction will determine what you hear.