1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which budget Plasma?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by sibod, Jul 9, 2005.

  1. sibod

    sibod
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I know - 'Read the reviews' - but I need some advice first!
    I'm looking to get a decent quality budget Plasma. OK, so some seem to suggest that does not exist. I've already excluded Tiny from my list, - I followed the thread sticky here and I'm horrified!

    But what I want is this:
    A Plasma that at the very least has a decent picture quality.
    A plasma that will accept HD signals for futureproofing, even though I'm not likely to bother with it for the forseeable.
    A plasma that accepts Prog Scan right now.
    A Plasma that has a good range of inputs.
    Has a good warranty.

    Well, ok, maybe that's too much to ask -but can those of you that have spent c. £1500 on a Plasma recently, tell me what you bought?

    here's one I've been looking at:
    http://www.purelyplasma.com/plasma-screens-42.html#24

    And another:
    http://www.purelyplasma.com/plasma-screens-42.html#28

    Any clues??

    Cheers!
     
  2. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,036
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +383
  3. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    Any plasma will accept HD, but you'll only see SD (from what I've read on here).
    Unless you go further up the range.
     
  4. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    The second plasma linked to was the hd ready one :confused:

    Also, not any plasma will accept HD, the PW7, using the digital HDCP inputs that HD-DVD/Blu-Ray/Sky HD will most likely eventualy need, will not accept 720p/50Hz or 1080i/50 Hz (only 60Hz). It will accept all defs./refresh rates through component. :rolleyes:
     
  5. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    The second plasma linked to was the hd ready one


    I don't see any mention of HDMI, which I thought was necessary to be truly HD ready??

    But I see what you mean with the PWD7 :thumbsup:
     
  6. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    they must of lied with the definition 1024x768? because it doesnt have hdmi, and here it is for £1200?
     
  7. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    but here it does have hdmi. im gonna leave this to an expert.
     
  8. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    If it does have HDMI, that's a very good price, especially with 720 native (I think?)
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    That's the 852/480 model, It is still unclear if it does have HDMI, there are 2 models, and I'd be more kindly disposed to Samsung if they could tell me which was which or send me the specs, but they are a right shower! HDMI or DVI makes no difference to high definition, but it must have HDCP, the copy protection system. It's part of the HDMI spec, but if any panel says DVI, you have to ask about HDCP. The 50/60 Hz thing is a bummer, we don't really know what some of the new screens will accept, as historically they have used x year old panasonic parts and technology. Clearly this is no longer good enough. As there are very few makers of HDCP chipsets in the world, and the biggest one did not support 50Hz signals till this year, ask the specific question of the retailer, does it accept HDCP 720p@50Hz, then you have them by the short and curlies if it won't.
     
  10. Chavvychase

    Chavvychase
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 5H has logos on the front with the words HDMI; and HD Ready
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    the 5s will not have the HD ready logo cos it does not have over 720 vertical pixels.
     

Share This Page

Loading...