1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which ATI's have no fan?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Mr. Wilby, Jul 6, 2003.

  1. Mr. Wilby

    Mr. Wilby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    My HTPC ATI 7500 DVI port gave up the ghost at the weekend. Works okay via s-video (not tried VGA) but I need DVI for 1:1 mapping on my Yam LPX 500.

    I'm currently using a fan'd 9500 Pro in there and its definitely a fair bit more noisy.

    I'm completely confused with ATI's new numbering policy. As far as I know, the ATI 9000 didn't used to have a fan and is DirectX 8.1 compliant(?).

    At my local PC store they have

    7500
    9000 LE
    9000 Pro
    9100 LE
    9200

    Any ideas which ones have fans and also whether the 9200 is just an updated 8500 or something?

    TIA
     
  2. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    The Saphire 9600 is fanless. You can also rip the heat sink and fan off the 9500 pro and replace it with a passive Zalman heatsink.
     
  3. Mr. Wilby

    Mr. Wilby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hello Jeff. Thanks for the reply. Not sure yet (just posted in LMP forum) whether my LMP case will fit a zalman. I don't think there's enough room for it ...

    9600 might be the way to go.
     
  4. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've seem pics of the LMP with zalman modded 9500, so should work.
     
  5. ilkand

    ilkand
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have the 9500 (64mb) which does have a fan, but the noise is not that bad at all. See if you can have a listen to one working. My super duper Zalman (expensive) CPU cooler makes enough noise to drown it out.

    OOOOPS missed a bit of your initial thread, sorry. Perhaps the PRO sounds louder or we have different standards.
     
  6. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    My 9500 is playing up and would be under warranty but I took the fan off and replaced it with a Zalman HP so I'll probably be out of luck. It will be a couple of weeks away anyway so I need a new one.

    Jeff, can you confirm that you mean the 9600 128mb non pro sapphire, Kustom pcs have the connect 3d 9600 128mb non pro and show it as passivly cooled but I have just asked for confirmation from The Overclocking Store before I order one and they say it has a fan??
     
  7. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    John,

    I saw a picture of one in PC Pro and it was fan-less. There might be different variants out there.
     
  8. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Hmmm thanks Jeff, looks like we need to check each one with the supplier.
     
  9. Mr. Wilby

    Mr. Wilby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    The image on kustom pc's definitely has no fan... TOS is about ten quid cheaper though... Hmm...
     
  10. Mr. Wilby

    Mr. Wilby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Would something like this be enough to cool a 9600 Pro given that its 0.13 micron and supposedly generates less heat that the older 0.15 micron 9500's?

    Given that a 9600 (non-Pro) can run with just a HS then I'd think it might be an option?

    Very tempted as I'm pretty sure my Abit NF7-S can't fit a Zalman heatpipe inside the LMP case... but I have one of these other Zalman coolers from my now defunct 7500...
     
  11. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Thats why I emailed TOS this morning to confirm but ll they said was "This card is not passively cooled, however we do stock alternative passive heatsinks that will fit this card"
     
  12. Mr. Wilby

    Mr. Wilby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    In the end I opted for a cheap powercolour (64mb) 7500 from overclockers.co.uk.

    It has no fan and I personally can't tell any difference in PQ between this and my 9500 Pro. I'm using overlay however (rather than that new fancy thing I forget the name of).
     

Share This Page

Loading...