1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which amp/rec? <£150

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Garysweb, Jan 5, 2004.

1. Garysweb

Garysweb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    As the subject suggests I am looking for an amp or receiver for less than 150 quid (hope i got the symbol right way round :) ) but the lower the better.

I am a bit of a newbie so some suggestions would be nice :)

I need 2, maybe 3 optical inputs.

I am a bit confused as to types of video inputs so some help there wouldalso be good, But i need 3 of some type - (dont think the tv likes s-video) for PS2, Xbox & freeview box.

Here are some I have seen. Your comments on these and any suggestions of others would be appreciated.

Sony STRDE485
    Denon AVR1603
    Yamaha RXV340

The last one..i think..is getting a bit too expensive

Anyway thanks in advance

2. hornydragon

hornydragon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    also lok at pioneer 301. RGB is the best way to connect what you have TV should take RGB in its scart set free veiw box to RGB and check.
    The 301 has 4 RGB capable scarts so will switch top quality Video from all 3 (PS2 and Xbox will require RGB cables available online or from game DSG etc)Also has 3 optical and 1 coax input!
    Basically ideal for what you need does everything, from a good manufacturer and looks good.
    Includes auto room setup.!
    £160 bargain mate!http://www.richersounds.co.uk/index.php?f=itemdetl.php&p=301576
    Full specs:http://www.pioneer.co.uk/uk/product_detail.jsp?product_id=3790&taxonomy_id=62-98

3. Garysweb

Garysweb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0